Thought for the Day (or should I say Year) – Where does your Christianity stop?

Posted: January 2, 2008 in Evangelism, The Gospel, Thought For The Day
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year everybody. As we have entered 2008, I would like to challenge you to stop, examine yourself and ask the question “Where does your Christianity stop?” Which ‘STOP’ below best describes you?

STOP 1: I am a solo Christian. I dont need to go to church or have fellowship with other believers
STOP 2: I go to church every week and that’s it
STOP 3: I go to church every week and all the big church conferences/meetings and gospel concerts and that’s it. Nobody else knows that I am a Christian

STOP 4: I let my light shine. People can tell that I am a Christian by my life alone so I do not speak to them about Christ unless they bring up the subject
STOP 5: I have only told my friends and family about Christ but no-one else
STOP 6: I have told my friends and family about Christ but also look for opportunites to give strangers the gospel

Whichever stage you are at, may I encourage to move from your inner circle and move outwards. Also remember those who have gone to other countries on missionary work to spread the gospel, sometimes in very dangerous circumstances and risking their own lives doing so

Selah

Related posts:

Every Christian needs to see this

A message to Christians

Whatever happened to Personal Evangelism?

Comments
  1. yeskids says:

    Alan, Glancing through your blog I love your heart. Your comments on the importance of reaching children is my passion.

    Please check out our blog at http://whymissionaries.wordpress.com/ and our website at http://www.kidtrek.org

    We covet your prayers as we strive to reach at-risk-kids and their families. So many children in America are growing up having no concept of who Jesus Christ is other than a curse word.

    May the Lord bless you in your ministry.

  2. lisaheidrich says:

    enjoyed your blog about “Where does Christianity Stop”
    great ideas to ponder and pray about. Does our Christianity ever really stop? I guess for many it does and that is sad. We have our work cut out for us! My desire to keep running hard after Jesus and to keep moving outward for HIM! Selah to you too! Blessings, Lisa
    “TRUST steadily in God, HOPE unswervingly, LOVE extravagantly.”
    1 Corinthians 13:13 (The Message) http://lisaheidrich.wordpress.com

  3. Some interesting reflections Alan.
    I would actually twist the question around and ask where does your Christianity start?

  4. blackreformingkid says:

    That is such a sobering thought for this year, Bro. Alan. As we take in more of God’s Word, His Spirit will bring up more and more opportunities to share the Gospel with others.

  5. Alan Higgins says:

    yeskids – I have skimmed your websites and think you are doing a commendable job. Being a father of two, I fully understand the importance of raising children especially in the early stages. I have a post on parenting which should be published within the week. Thanks for your comments

    lisaheidrich – Thanks to you also and like you said in essence our christianity should never stop. Unfortuntaely though, many Christians do STOP at one of the ones I stated above so I wanted to give people food for thought

    David and BRK – You know I’ve got both of your backs. Thanks for the contributions

  6. love4real says:

    christianity is a faith for life it does not need to stop at any point since we are not going to be excused for our lapses at the end of the day.any way tanx for the food for thought.

  7. Alan Higgins says:

    I know love4real. What I was tring to do is provoke thought as certain people feel that they get to a certain point and do not need to go any further

  8. Mika says:

    Yeah it’s hard to address ourselves if we don’t PRACTICE! I know this. I’m learning slowly but I’m listening to people’s reactions. It helps you understand how to preach properly and be concerned about the other person and hear them out. You should first understand the person, connect with them personally before sounding like a egotistic and critical to the point of exploding from nerves.
    Take people’s reactions and their beliefs into consideration. It’s food for effective preaching!

  9. ngw says:

    Stop one it is for me. I hate this, pardon me but it really stinks. I am between a rock and a hard place on this one. When I was a child my envengelical aunt and uncle took my mother to be “healed” twice, as my mother is skitzophreninc. Both times my mother went compleatly off her much needed meds. After a few days my mother would go and take every pill she had, resulting in overdoeses both times. The last time my sister and I were both children, and alone with our mother. The worst part about it wasn’t banging on the bathroom door pleading with her to come out, it was that this all happened on an Easter Sunday. I have been afraid to trust churches ever since. Fearing that I am going to walk away with a false doctirne. I know why GOD didn’t heal her. I am so cool with that part. I am not cool to falling prey to another wolf.
    Another reason I try to stay out, is I have a severly autistic child who “acts” up in church. I can’t stand people staring at him the way they do, and giving me the disapproving stares. Hey the LORD said bring all the children, not just the ones without a problem containing themselves. This makes me violently angry, I don’t believe church should be the forum for my anger.
    GOD isn’t my problem at all, it is people. I put my faith in HIM. All my prayers get answered. My son attends one of the best schools in the country, my mother is well taken care of. My husband still has a job, HE has rescued my from my parents, their practice of witch craft , all manners of abuse by their hands, and taken me out of one of the worst ghettos in NJ before I was 6. Not to mention HE had kept my poor grandparents out of the slammer, as they were thinking of kidnapping my sister and I.

    Jesus has taken excellent care of me. I still struggle at the end of the day with the “saved” issue. But my thoughts always lead me to the crook on the cross next to JESUS, he was saved just for believing. That guy probably never laid eyes on our Lord before that moment, but he belived, and was in paradise with Jesus.

    Truth be told, I do not know enough about him to go preaching to anyone, and given my circumstances, I could know the Bible by heart, and still not know enough to be comfortable. Not all of us were gifted with the ability to teach. Not all of us are abled bodied enough to make it in to church. Stopping at one doesn’t me that the Lord hasn’t entered a persons heart, and furthermore who the heck are you to judge? Please, don’t get me wrong, I love y’al, but please understand, the Lord is understanding of all our circumstances. You don’t know what is going on in peoples lives. I think you are awesome to try to challenge peoples beliefs, you really seem to care about your family, but it isn’t up to you is it.

  10. Alan Higgins says:

    ngw, I’m sorry to hear what you and your family have gone through. It is because of experiences like yours where I speak out against people who like to deceive. Look at such links as http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2007/12/14/the-marks-of-false-%e2%80%98christian%e2%80%99-teaching-and-teachers-interlude-my-reason-for-doing-this/ and http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/2008/01/04/the-church-mafia-spiritual-abuse-in-our-churches

    Maybe this website maybe of help http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2009/01/24/are-you-not-in-church/

    I’m glad to hear that you are not blaming God and its sad to see that some who profess to be christians behave so unChristlike

    I will be praying for you and I hope you heard my heart when I wrote this post

Leave a Reply

