In my previous church, whenever it came to New Years Eve, people wanted to know what the declaration for the new year will be because the pastor gave one every year. One year it was the “Year of the Open Door”. All the ‘door’ scriptures would come out (normally out of context) like Revelation 3:7. I used to hate these declarations because it made no sense. First of all, does that mean that in other years, doors would not be open? What about the sovereignty of God? Supposed God did not want a door to open that year because that person had not reached a certain level of maturity? What if doors were closed to build character in a person?

So what you would get is what I call ‘the carrot blessing’. Where the ‘blessing’ is dangled before you with erroneous teaching but you never actually receive it, but you keep following the teachings anyway

Carrot Blessing

Then what people would find towards the end of the year was that their doors were NOT opened. They didnt get that breakthrough that the ‘man of Gawd’ spoke. They still had debts that were not cancelled. They never got that husband, wife, car or house. And somehow the ‘man of Gawd’ would have some kind of justification why they never received. Sometimes he would even go up to December 31st of that new year to stretch out the false hope and say something like ‘the year is not over’. Some of you would have heard things like praise God that the ‘man of Gawd’ is prospering because if you do, your blessing will be on its way. So what you do is give him your hard earned cash and he becomes richer and you become poorer. What folly!!!

For I do not mean that others should be eased and you burdened (2 Cor 8:13)

I saw this courtesy of Truthwarcentral where it seemed that Tammy Faye was under the influence of the Word Of Faith movement when she had cancer. Trying to use positive confession, she declared

Everyday I claimed “I AM GETTING WELL”! And I BELIEVED that with all my heart! P.S. I will not use the word remission! It’s a doubt word! That, in my opinion, says the cancer could come back. I say the cancer is GONE! I have NO MORE cancer. I refuse to give it permission to come back!

The photograph on the left is from a March, 2004 appearance on Larry King Live the photograph on the right is from the July 19, 2007 appearance on Larry King Live.

Tammy Faye

Unfortunately Tammy Faye died from her cancer on July 20, 2007

Before anyone jumps on my back, I would just like to make it clear that I am not commenting on Tammy Faye’s spirituality or her eternal fate nor am I trying to speak ill of the dead but am trying to drive it home how dangerous false hope can be.

I have been duped by this positive confession stuff as well in the past so I am speaking from experience. An example is when I had a job interview and really thought it went well and I was walking down the road like an idiot confessing ‘The job is mine, the job is mine‘. Well the job wasnt mine, it was somebody elses and I was vex and very disillusioned with God at that time because I wondered why this teaching hardly ‘worked’. And this is the problem. When things dont go as planned, your view of God changes and you begin to doubt if his word is true and unfortunately for some, this false hope will lead them straight to hell.

So let me encourage you that true hope can only be found in the TRUTH of the scriptures. Paul told the Colossians:

We give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, praying always for you, since we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of your love for all the saints; because of the hope which is laid up for you in heaven, of which you heard before in the word of the TRUTH of the gospel, which has come to you, as it has also in all the world, and is bringing forth fruit, as it is also among you since the day you heard and knew the grace of God in TRUTH (Colossians 1:3-6)

Remember to pray for these teachers

To be continued…

Related posts:

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 1 – A Form of godliness

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 2 – Scripture Twisting

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 3 – The abuse of biblical numerlogy

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 4 – Man Centered Theology

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 5 – The Prosperity Gospel

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers (Interlude) – My reason for doing this

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 6 – Denial that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 7 – Signs and Wonders

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 8 – Deconstruction

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 10 – The misuse of old testament scriptures

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 11 – The Gospel of Inclusion

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers  – The Conclusion

Comments
  1. Sicarii says:

    Shalom Alan!

    I must apologize first of all that this is going to be an off-topic comment to your post.

    But I assure you that it’s good.

    I’ve been reading your blog a lot since discovering it, and just love it, which leads me to say that it has been my honor to be able to award you with the “Thinking Blogger Award”.

    Your posts never fail to make me think or challenge me to examine myself in my walk with God.

    Details of the award are at my blog: http://www.sicarii.net/2008/02/06/thinking-blogger-moi/

    I hope you’re not adverse to receiving awards. ;-)

    God bless!

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    WOW, I’m flattered.

    (Holding up my award for the whole world to see)

    “First of all I would like give all honour to God”

    END OF SPEECH

    Thanks Sicarii

    Sola Gloria !!

  3. blackreformingkid says:

    I second Alan’s award win LOL!!!

    Does the Word talk about those who say “Peace, peace when there is no peace”

    Sounds a lot like the false teachers, sir…

  4. Sicarii says:

    Ha ha ha! You deserve it, brother.

    God bless, and Shalom!

  5. alease davis says:

    I felt bad for Tammy Faye.You are absolutely right about these conmen giving false hope to people.The saddest thing is that when hoped for breakthrough,healing,prosperity doesnt materialize-the Christian will be told that it is his/her own fault.

Leave a Reply

