Spending Quality Time With God

Posted: March 18, 2008 in Prayer, The Bible
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.”41 And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. 42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:38-42)

Quality Time With God

How many of us a Christians have been like Martha? I will be first in the line to put my hand up. We spend time going to church, going to conferences, being in ministry, blogging etc yet we fail to carve out a time in our day to spend real quality time with God. We can be so busy doing things FOR God that we fail to spend time WITH him. We can see in the scripture above that Jesus commended Mary for choosing ‘that good part’. Our lives can become so busy in our daily lives that God normally gets the leftover of the day, that is, if he gets anything at all. My friend once gave me a saying which I have to constantly remind myself

URGENCY IS THE ENEMY OF IMPORTANCE

What do I mean by that? Sometimes we think that things such as housework, like Martha, are urgent and we do this at the expense of what is important, that is spending quality time listening to God through his word, like Mary, and also in prayer.

I pray that this post will encourage you (and me) to prioritize the time that we spend with God. If you are normally busy in the evenings, then find a time in the morning and vice versa, but whatever you do, lets not give God leftovers

Related Post:

Be Devoted to Prayer

Comments
  1. navejas4life says:

    wow. i’ve been tryin to get this right for the past month grr. today is the day

  2. Heidi says:

    Great post. :)

  3. Francis says:

    I want to spend quality time with God!Ü

  4. Exactly right on!! Message for me.

  5. Laisa says:

    Great post and it’s so true. Will definitely take this on board.

  6. Griffin says:

    Guess I have been giving god the leftovers of my time.nw I hve decided to give hom more of my time

  7. Meka says:

    Thank you so much for this post! It is very encouraging and inspiring; Definitely motivated me to be more conscious of not being too busy to spend time, QUALITY TIME, with God! He definitely does deserve our best, not leftovers!

Leave a Reply

