This is something that has been bothering me for quite some time now about most churches. The fact of the matter is that most people will not step inside the door of a church. But instead of us GOING OUT to them to tell them the gospel, we spend more effort on trying to get people to ‘COME AND SEE‘. We have developed the average believers mentalities so that their ‘evangelism’ stops at inviting their friends and family to come to church and events around Easter, Christmas and such events as the Alpha Course and that is about it. Now am I saying that we should not do these things? No, but what I am saying is that should only be an extension of us reaching out to those who would otherwise, not come to church unless it is a christening, wedding or funeral. When it comes to such events as Christmas and Alpha, we pull out all the stops and encourage the congregation to invite people to church for the event by distributing leaflets etc but we dont seem to have the same oomph or zeal to get people to spread the gospel or give out gospel tracts all the year round in the same way,even if there is no event happening. We place the emphasis in the wrong place and we get it backwards. I am not saying that inviting people to events is wrong in any way as people obviously do get saved from them but it seems that when the events come and go, then the focus on personal evangelism goes with it and is forgotten.

We need to not be part of the apparent 98% of christians who do not share their faith REGULARLY. If I just go by my 20 years as a Christian and by my small group, I know this to be the case. I also know because I was one of them.

This is something that is close to my heart because I recognise the importance of spreading the gospel. I am not any big evangelist or anything but just a normal christian who understands that not all christians are called to be evangelists but ALL are called to evangelise and be proactive in evangelism and not just reactive. Our mindset needs to change.

Let us stop waiting for the fish to jump into the boat but let us GO OUT and be fishers of men

Please check out the links below

Comments
  1. naturalsystah says:

    I do agree… I see part of the problem is that

    1) Many aren’t able to articulate the gospel as discipleship is lacking in this area (IME)

    2) Evangelism is seen as the preacher’s/evangelist’s job

    As for me, I shall be more prepared and keep my tracts with me!

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    Naturalsystah I couldnt agree with you more

  3. Geri says:

    Can’t agree more!!!!! 2 Tim 4 is encouraging, praise God. In fact both letters from Timothy are.

    For me personally, I shall be led by the Spirit of God, for one day I know the Lord will ask me to account for myself and i don’t want to be found lacking.

    I am not: intimidated, afraid,ashamed or luke warm about the Gospel, because I don’t want Christ to be any of the above about me.

    I am not a church christian I am a God loving, Christ following christian.

    Keep on encouraging and keep fanning the flames of passion for street evangelism. You are such an inspiration.

  4. Alan Higgins says:

    Thanks Geri. There are only two times you should preach the gospel. In season and out of season

Leave a Reply

