OK, what made me write this post today? Well whenever I get a idea for a blog, I type it in my blackberry so that I dont forget and normally have it a draft in wordpress, ready for me to write on the topic.
Yesterday I looked at the status of one of my friends on Facebook and it said ‘EXPECTING something GREAT and EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD to HAPPEN in the next 48 hours. God has OPENED DOORS that no one can SHUT’ and I just sighed. I used to have this mindset and its so true that you are a product of your environment or the teaching that you are under. God doesnt have to do anything in 48 hours. He doesnt have to do anything in 48 months. He is sovereign and he does what he wants. It is like the church dangles the carrot in front of many people knowing that they will never get it but they know that they will keep trying. As James White says ‘Theology Matters’, but in most churches it doesnt and dont get me started on THAT diary.
I know exactly how this thing works. Been there,done (or should I say heard) that. Just use key words like ‘miracle’, ‘breakthrough’
, ‘destiny’ or mention material stuff and you have the congregation in the palm of your hands and you can prey on the desperate and the needy. It all panders to the gospel of YOU. It is fraudulent and dare I say it, devilish and Satanic at the root (even though the person may be doing it in ignorance). Why? Because it gives people false hope with things such as the year of this and the year of that, abusing biblical numerolgy, talking about the 24 Hour miracles (as shown below), or the ’secrets of the prayer shawls’ (let me tell you now,there is no secret).
24-hour-miracle talithacumihp
 In regards to the prayer shawl, the website says

Related Posts:

Get ready to: Discover the tallit’s significant role in prayer – from ancient biblical truths that reveal how it is made and for what reasons. Get equipped for more powerful prayer than ever – from learning the significance of the fringes on the four corners added to it.

Become more intimate with God – from discovering how to draw in the atarah (collar), to wear your tallit as a “sanctuary” or “tent”. Restore the sacredness of your prayer time – by using your tallit as part of your increased prayer focus

Just a plain reading of scripture text will show you that new testament believers never believed that a prayer shawl (or ANY material item) equipped anybody for more powerful prayer nor did they hold anything even close to resembling ‘24 Hour Miracle Anointing Days’ (if someone can show me scriptually, I would like to know). The whole thing sickens me. I have seen the fruit of people having their dreams dashed. I have heard about people who have given their money only to go home to a boarded house while the preachers gets fat…………..yet many believers are still blinded by these false promises and will continue to give their money, will continue to buy the books and DVDs without studying the word of God for themselves. I dont care how charasmatic the person is or how many people they have touched. I want to know are they teaching sound doctrine or are they just tickling ears? Are they willing to be challenged on their theology or is that a no-go area? Do they know how to interpret the bible rightly? 

More and more, I am coming to the conclusion that that the church needs to put more emphasis on teaching believers HOW to study bible and interpret it correctly 

Related Posts:

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    I totally hear this.

    I too am sick to death of seeing and hearing these ‘promise’ sermons and a false gospel being preached. Infact even saying to an unsaved person ‘God has a wonderful plan for your life’ is wrong if it leads that person to imagine an easy life!

    The word ‘abundant’ means ‘full’ not wealthy, not healthy, not even happy – just full! St Paul’s life was abundant.. it was ‘full’ of pain, captivity and beatings which he bore for the name of Christ Jesus. Was he miserable? No, but only because he had the hope of salvation and spirit of God living within him. He wasn’t happy because he was wealthy, powerful or proseperous (desires which should die once we are truely saved) but because God had given him a new spirit with new desires and a hope of glory!

    I feel sad that people the World over are being fed a message which is disgusting in the eyes of God – and many are falling for it. I guess I too would have if I didn’t have such an inquisitive nature. I have always desired the full truth, and nothing but it which I’m sure God gave me.

    “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.” Luke 9:24 KJV

    The above scripture pretty much spelt it out for me. ALL worldy desires lead to sin, and sin to death. I would rather be poor and desolate to the day I die than risk falling from grace.

  2. Stephen Olan says:

    Bro, believe me when I say I’m still waiting on my 24 hour miracle. I fell for that lie, paid £240 and am still waiting on that miracle. The only miracle is that God opened my eyes to that trash little under 2 years ago (maybe that was the 24 hour miracle, lol).

  3. walter says:

    Evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse deceiving and being deceived, there were false prophets also among the people even as there shall be false teachers among you. We are there now, Jesus never said that I needed a prayer shawl to have a powerful effective prayer life, maybe he did but I can’t find it in the new testament .

  4. tunji says:

    Many of the prosperity gospel purveyors will have a lot to answer to their maker on judgement day.

    We need more of truly scriptural evangelical teaching and preaching.

  5. You already know how I feel about this crap, Alan – excellent post. I’m going to link to it as a reminder of how vigilant we must be in preaching the uncompromised Word of God – no philosophy, no “speak those things” heresy – just the pure Word.

    Thanks for this, brother.

  6. Hi,

    Straight out of the WoF playbook….giving false hope to the hopeless by demeaning God is par for the course…I know I used to teach it…

    Nice catch Alan….and thanks for this post!

    Phil

  7. Isaiah says:

    Good one, bro!

    Just a few days ago, John “Magic Stones” Avanzini was in Singapore “teaching” in a mega-church in Singapore, handing out his “magic stones” and “recession-proof anointing” (his exact words!)…

    What saddened and sickened me was the congregation going “amen!” and buying into that nonsense! Sigh…

  8. Leigh says:

    Yes, I agree. All believers must be able to rightly divide the Word of God. It is a serious issue, probably the most serious issue in todays church.
    I like Chuck Misslers “Learn the Bible in 24 Hours” as a good starting point to get a high regard for the integrity of the Word and on contextual interpretation.

  9. D says:

    We need an outpouring of the Holy Spirit to expose truth. We also need the boldness to find out what we should do to spread the ‘truth’ in a more organised way.

    Bless you Alan

  10. naturalsystah says:

    Brother, my husband and I were talking about this whole prayer shawl/prayer cloth business just the other day. What a con! We truly need sound teaching in churches today.

  11. Steve Sacman says:

    Yo Alan, good post..
    You know what I think about these scams and the reluctance of some Christians to actually study their bibles.
    Matthew Ashimolowo is all about the “10 M’s of Money” http://www.godshop.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=261 which is his latest money making hustle aimed at scamming the biblical illiterate out of their cash.
    I’ve always said that the best way for anyone to personally get out of debt is to write a book on “supernatural debt cancellation” or any other similar spiritual sounding title and sell it to naïve Christians and you’ll be laughing all the way to the bank from the royalties earned from the sales.. When will people wake up to these scams… As for the prayer shawls..
    I’ve asked a couple of people who attend John’s church to explain the purpose of the shawls and all they’ve done is regurgitated the same spew that John counter factually teaches.. No attempt is made to actually show if this has any biblical significance.. My usual response is that if purchasing a prayer shawl is a prerequisite to my salvation or enhancing my relationship with God, then why is there no mention of this non fact throughout the entire bible and why isn’t it free?? Matthew 10:8 and 2 Corinthians 2:17…..
    Anyways, mark my words your boy will soon start claiming that when you purchase one of his specially anointed suits that it will enable you to speak “super spiritual anointed babble”

    http://unitedbyone.co.uk/Articles/132712/United_by_ONE/news/Bishop_Francis_launches.aspx

    “Ba Ba Ba Bousha and away we go!!!!!”

    Sorry Alan had to go there man as this is class….

    Peace…

  12. naturalsystah says:

    Steve – a CLOTHING LINE??!! “bishop” John Francis really is somet’ing else! Maybe he’ll have a reality show next?

  13. susan says:

    In the false Word of Faith or Third Wave movement it’s all about self, getting rich, getting gifts and buying things and not about Jesus and others even though Jesus clearly told us:

    JN 12:32 “And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all peoples to Myself.”

    JN 13:34 “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.

    JN 15:12 “This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.

  14. Eadenmurray says:

    I would like to have the whole manual concerning the learn the bible in 24 hours. Include the Greek interpretations that I saw attached to the side on the Tv when you were reading the other day.

    God bless

    Eaden

Leave a Reply

