One of the most frustrating things I find is talking to a person who has been innoculated. What I mean is that they’ve been bought up in church, they have heard the gospel (or whatever the church calls the gospel these days) a countless amount of times, they know all the church lingo but…….there is no fruit in their lives. They believe that they are a christian but by their fruit ‘you know them’. It is more than likely that they are a false convert.  They have no desire to discuss the things of God, they have no hunger for his word, prayer or fellowship with fellow believers. They have not examined themselves to see if they are in the faith. You try to correct them biblically and lovingly and they get their back up and call you ‘holier than thou’. It can be very frustrating to make a breakthrough (even though I do understand that ultimately, it is a work of the Holy Spirit). This is why I am not a fan of the sinners prayer because I think it gives people the wrong assurance of their salvation.

If you recall, I tried to correct someone in my church who was unrepentedly sinning and also ministering in church (who be the way promptly deleted me from his friends list in facebook). In the end, he was lovingly disciplined by my pastor and he decided to leave the church. I’m sure he said the sinners prayer and was probably baptised as well.

The bible makes it very clear that there if a person professes to be a believer, then there must be some good fruit following. I do understand that many people are at different stages in their christian walk, maybe going through a ‘dry’ period or maybe just immature but I am talking about those who do not fall into any of those categories but who consistently display bad fruit.

These four testimonies represent millions of untold people in America (and the world) who believe themselves to be right with God because they have bought in to an easy form of Christianity that is nothing more than an insurance policy to save a person from hell. Christ’s power is not only to save one from hell, but to change His followers by giving them new hearts and making them more like Him in a lifelong process called sanctification. If you didn’t change, then you are not one of His. Please watch these testimonies and examine your own testimony.

The question is, do you see yourself in this?

HT: Real Truth Matters

Related Posts:

How to make your child a false convert and the testimony of one such convert

Just say this prayer?

How to botch an altar call

Evangelistic Malpractice

True and False Conversion

Comments
  1. Twice monthly, I do a teaching for the women in our county jail. They are all anxious and sad to be there and I am sure I could get them all to say the “sinners prayer”. But somehow, that is not what is important. I believe my job is to give them the truth of salvation and the cross of Christ. What good does it do anyone to just give them a “Jesus loves you” statement and tell them to repeat a prayer to be saved! They don’t even know the God they are praying to!

    I teach on Christ and what it takes to be his disciple. Jesus is very real to me. I let them know just how real he is. And then, I allow for the Holy Spirit open their eyes and their heart to believe! I can’t save anyone. I can only lead them to Jesus and pray that he will do what I can’t.

    I hate to say this, but sometimes people like to tell others about how many they led to Christ because they said a prayer with them! I just never read of Jesus or his apostles doing that. They gave the truth of Christ alone! It is his power alone that transforms their hearts not some prayer.

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    Marianne, I cant agree with you more. I always like to say that time will tell if a person is truly regenerated. As you have said, it is out job to give out the gospel and it is God’s job to save.

  3. Eve says:

    28 “What do you think? There was a man who had two sons. He went to the first and said, ‘Son, go and work today in the vineyard.’

    29 “‘I will not,’ he answered, but later he changed his mind and went.

    30 “Then the father went to the other son and said the same thing. He answered, ‘I will, sir,’ but he did not go.

    31 “Which of the two did what his father wanted?”

    “The first,” they answered.
    Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of God ahead of you. 32 For John came to you to show you the way of righteousness, and you did not believe him, but the tax collectors and the prostitutes did. And even after you saw this, you did not repent and believe him.
    Matt 21:28-32 (NIV)

    Obedience to the Gospel is not what we say, it’s what we do!

    Do our lives show the fruits of repentance or are we just paying lip service?

  4. Chris says:

    I find it difficult to believe sometimes yet i find myself thinking im saved. Ive prayed for the answer, read the book and yet im still at a loss. I find the whole concept to be a riddle, something no one can truely answer or solve.

    Question: How am I supposed to believe when there is no answer from “god” :/

  5. robin claire says:

    I would like you to read my testimony. It has 3 parts to it that I am asking people to read in a specific order. I like your view point and I would like to know what you think of how I was saved. My walk with God, through Christ, has been a rocky one – to say the least.

  6. Gerard says:

    That is awesome! I’ve had some similar experiences with the true Gospel. My wife and I started walking the in the Truth and laying hands on people and seeing them get healed. One guy, after he was miraculously healed said to me, with voice trembling, “What do I have to do to get saved?” Another time I was talking to two people about the healings I have seen, and one of them started asking questions about God. A few days later, she came up to me and said, “I was in my room, and I was crying, and I said to God, ‘Jesus, I want you to be my Savior’, am I now a Christian?” LOL I love it! God’s Word is true, it is the kindness of God that leads to repentance. When a lost world encounters the true love of God through His true people, they are transformed.

  7. JimmyS says:

    Read John 3:16 and ask yourself – “who’s doing the loving, who is lost and and who is being loved?” When we read the story of the prodigal son ask yourself the same questions, A Christian is not someone who satisfies the law which can be summarized in this saying: “love God and love your neighbor”. Paul makes it clear that no man will be saved by the law. A Christian is a person who’s hope is in God’s love, grace and mercy, which are demonstrated by Christ’s life, death and resurrection. If we’re not animated by God’s love working in and through us, it’s not Christianity. My hope is in Christ who gave Himself for me.- not the Bible, not myself, not my works, not my faith, not the law! Unless the Lord builds this house (me), they labor in vain that build it. Ultimately, the Lord will demonstrate His love for me by welcoming me home despite my many shortcomings AKA sins. Christ’s blood has become my portal to heaven!

Leave a Reply

