This is one of those traditional practices that you normally see at events such as ‘healing’ crusades and ‘deliverance’ ministries when the preacher lays hands on a person and they ‘fall out’ or as it is commonly known ‘get slain in the spirit’. It has almost become the norm in many churches that a lot of Christians do not even question it’s biblical validity and assume that it is from God.  See the video below as an example.

Question: Why is it that the only place in scripture where people fell backwards due to the power of God was the wicked men who came to arrest Jesus?  Selah

I know that one of the first thing people will say to defend this (or their favorite pastor/bishop/preacher) is ‘I know what I felt when it happened to me’ but we must remember that feelings and emotions are not an indication of truth. Feelings can change and deceive. See my post Emotionalism and Experience versus Sound Doctrine. The bible even states that Satan presents himself as an angel of light and he will perform many lying wonders. So what is the standard that we should follow? It is the scriptures and the scriptures alone. That is the plumbline.

My good friend, Steve Campbell wrote a good article called ‘Slain in the Spirit or just “Slain” stupid’ and I thought I would share it with you below

Just a couple of links to remind us that once again we must use the scriptures as the final authority for our faith and not these so called “fake healers and prophe-liars”…..

I’ve been saying for a while especially when you study and see the comparisons in the New Age Movement, that this whole “slain in the spirit” thing is false and has no place in Christianity…
People in the Charismatic Movement have mis-interpreted the scripture in Acts 2 and especially from verse 11 where scripture shows that some and not all of the many who had gathered accused the disciples of being drunk. This has been interpreted by The Charismatics as meaning that when the Holy Spirit comes upon you he makes you act in a manner that to others seems strange and some have even labeled this behaviour as being “Drunk in the Spirit”… Once again this teaching has no biblical foundation as the purpose of having the Holy Spirit is one of comfort, a guide and teacher…Look at John 14:26…  The Holy Spirit does not make you roll around on the floor like some socially dysfunctional person in order to show that God is working in your life.. Ephesians 5:18 tells us to ” be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit;”
The only characters that I’ve seen in scripture who were “slain by the spirit” and not “slain in the spirit” were Ananias and Sapphira in Acts 5……

Look at what happens from verse 12 in Acts 2, as Peter explains to the crowd the events that were occurring and made reference to the Prophet Joel’s prophecy in Joel 2:28-32.
He clearly states that the disciples were not drunk… A few major things happened on the Day Of Pentecost … The disciples spoke in tongues which were the dialects of approximately 18 different nationalities… They professed the gospel of Jesus Christ.. Peter then preached the Gospel of Jesus Christ with authority and articulacy.
Acts 2:37 shows the hearers of Peter’s sermon were “cut to the heart” ESV.. This meant that were convicted by what Peter had preached.
It then goes on to say that they devoted themselves to the apostles teaching, which was the Gospel and they fellowshipped together giving and sharing their possessions to as many who had a need.
So we can see from reading the whole text that the Day of Pentecost was the birth of the Christian Church as we know it, and that the gospel was preached and the lost were saved..
We cannot just simply highlight the gift of receiving The Holy Spirit without actually showing it’s purpose.. Which is to enable us to preach the Gospel in any surroundings, especially a difficult one with clarity and authority….

We do a great disservice to the working of the Holy Spirit when we act in manner that is confusing to the unbeliever and does not audibly proclaim the wonderful works of God, which is the Gift Of Salvation to all of mankind.

So……. Have a look at these two clips and then decide if these acts truly bring people to repentance and convict them of their sin just as Peter’s preaching did on the day of Pentecost???

As Always…

Sola Scriptura..

Steve….

BUT DONT TAKE OUR WORD FOR IT. CHECK OUT THE SCRIPTURES FOR YOURSELF

Related Posts:

The traditions of men making the Word of God of none effect - Introduction

The traditions of men making the Word of God of none effect (Part 1) : Pleading the blood

The traditions of men making the Word of God of none effect (Part 2) : Tithing

The traditions of men making the Word of God of none effect (Part 3) : Getting a confirmation from God

Comments
  1. Kendrick Howard says:

    What about speaking in tounges

  2. Corey says:

    Alan just for my understanding, do you believe in the Trinity and the Rapture ?

  3. Corey says:

    So according to you Alan, what I have experience, I am faking it or getting all emotional.

  4. glasseyedave says:

    Wow Alan,

    You have got the tiger by the tail on this one.

    First of all, the topic is slain in the Spirit, but you have this comment in your post that I agree with which is more than just on topic, so I will address your subject with a little broader stroke if I may and them bring it back to topic. I agree with the comment,

    “We do a great disservice to the working of the Holy Spirit when we act in manner that is confusing to the unbeliever and does not audibly proclaim the wonderful works of God, which is the Gift Of Salvation to all of mankind.”

    Paul says:

    1Co 14:22-25 KJV Wherefore tongues are for a sign, not to them that believe, but to them that believe not: but prophesying serveth not for them that believe not, but for them which believe. (23) If therefore the whole church be come together into one place, and all speak with tongues, and there come in those that are unlearned, or unbelievers, will they not say that ye are mad? (24) But if all prophesy, and there come in one that believeth not, or one unlearned, he is convinced of all, he is judged of all: (25) And thus are the secrets of his heart made manifest; and so falling down on his face he will worship God, and report that God is in you of a truth.

    I can see where the church has ignored this teaching of Paul and makes themselves look mad instead of proclaiming the word of God like a prophet would. (Keep in mind though… this is still a spiritual gift. But it is a gift that will convict the world of sin.)

    But we must realize that scripture teaches when it comes to the Spirit, the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every believer by God Himself as He wills. Manifestation is a big word with lots of meaning. The Holy Spirit supernaturally, outside of our talents and abilities does one of the following in or for the believer. So scripturally speaking, we can not throw out the baby with the bath water here.

    1Co 12:4-11 KJV Now there are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit. (5) And there are differences of administrations, but the same Lord. (6) And there are diversities of operations, but it is the same God which worketh all in all. (7) But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man to profit withal. (8) For to one is given by the Spirit the word of wisdom; to another the word of knowledge by the same Spirit; (9) To another faith by the same Spirit; to another the gifts of healing by the same Spirit; (10) To another the working of miracles; to another prophecy; to another discerning of spirits; to another divers kinds of tongues; to another the interpretation of tongues: (11) But all these worketh that one and the selfsame Spirit, dividing to every man severally as he will.

    Now to be on topic.

    I have gone to these meetings and been pushed down with great force. I been to Benny Hinn’s crusade and I know how he gets the crowd to all convulse at once. (I too almost swallowed my tongue.)

    I have never been slain but others I have known claim to have been. I see the abuses in the church and it makes me doubt not only them but their whole ministry. I can not find in scripture where this is part of the believers experience, like I can find scripture that points to the gifts that God gives to all men (believers).

    With that said… I still do not see the Spirit in the church or in my own life the way scripture speaks of it, unless I just can’t see my own gift working.

    I don’t know.

    glasseyedave
    thegospelaccordingtothegospel.com

  5. Corey says:

    Christians are known to be followers of Christ and there seems to be so much criticism as to what is Christ-like and what’s not.

    Now imagine living in the days of Paul and this happens . . . Acts 19:12 (NKJV)
    [12] so that even handkerchiefs or aprons were brought from his body to the sick, and the diseases left them and the evil spirits went out of them. . .

    Now would Paul have been criticised because no where in scripture did Jesus use apron or handkerchief to heal someone . . . Or did He?

    John 21:25 (NKJV)
    [25] And there are also many other things that Jesus did, which if they were written one by one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that would be written. Amen.

    I would of been impressed with just London alone, but the whole world, Wow!!! Only Jesus.

    John 14:12 (NKJV)
    The Answered Prayer
    [12] “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.

    Not everything needed to be written or else it would of been. God could of had 166 books in the bible but felt 66 was enough to get His message across.

    I remember a friend of mine called Carol, who has a twin sister who lives in Paris. She came to London to spend time with Carol, so of course Carol brought her to church.

    When her sister saw people getting slain, she said, that’s not necessary, that’s not happening to me. Carol said why don’t you go down for pray, her reply was if God wants to do something, He can do it right here.

    Not long after, her words came to pass in a big way. The thing she didn’t believe in and thought
    was not necessary happened to her. . . Carol just laughed!!

    Where in scripture does it say if its not written, it’s not of God ?

    When the Holy Spirit works, He works from the inside. But you better be 100% sure this is not the work of the Holy Spirit. . .

    Matthew 12:24-32 (NKJV)
    [24] Now when the Pharisees heard it they said, “This fellow does not cast out demons except by Beelzebub,* the ruler of the demons.” [25] But Jesus knew their thoughts, and said to them: “Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation, and every city or house divided against itself will not stand. [26] “If Satan casts out Satan, he is divided against himself. How then will his kingdom stand? [27] “And if I cast out demons by Beelzebub, by whom do your sons cast them out? Therefore they shall be your judges. [28] “But if I cast out demons by the Spirit of God, surely the kingdom of God has come upon you. [29] “Or how can one enter a strong man’s house and plunder his goods, unless he first binds the strong man? And then he will plunder his house. [30] “He who is not with Me is against Me, and he who does not gather with Me scatters abroad.
    The Unpardonable Sin
    [31] “Therefore I say to you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven men. [32] “Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man, it will be forgiven him; but whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit, it will not be forgiven him, either in this age or in the age to come.

    Now Alan, just like the Pharisees believed that this was the work of the satan, you have said like wise.

    Also Alan, if you have problem with emotion, then you have a problem with God.

    God loves. “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life,” (John 3:16).
    God hates. “The LORD tests the righteous and the wicked, and the one who loves violence His soul hates,” (Psalm 11:5).
    God has compassion. “But he hesitated. So the men seized his hand and the hand of his wife and the hands of his two daughters, for the compassion of the LORD was upon him; and they brought him out, and put him outside the city,” (Genesis 19:16).
    God grieves. “And the LORD was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart,” (Genesis 6:6).
    God expresses joy. “…Do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength,” (Nehemiah 8:10).
    God rejoices. “For as a young man marries a virgin, so your sons will marry you. And as the bridegroom rejoices over the bride, so your God will rejoice over you,” (Isaiah 62:5).
    John 11:35 (NKJV)
    [35] Jesus wept.

    • Cory

      I too, having a past in the Assembly of God church, understand what it means to have the “Spirit move“. I have heard many prophetic words that never happened. I have seen and been subject to many so called words of the Lord that never happened for me or those who I knew. So these things you and I would have to just say… I don’t know. I think that would be fair for the both of us.

      But there are things of the Spirit that you and I can know. I know the Spirit convicted me of sin. I know the Spirit drew me to God, and yes it was very emotional for me. The Spirit made me a new person, I was born again. The Spirit took away my desire and love of sin. The Spirit put a new heart in me and I wanted to know, love and seek God. I have been healed of sickness that was supposed to be with my till the day I died, but it has been gone since I was 16. Yes, I even have the evidence of speaking in tongues, although if I pray in it, I do not do it but in my “prayer closet“. All of these are things that I can point to the Word of God and say, yep there it is in the final authority of God, His Word.

      Yes there is emotions in all of this. Yes these are experiences I will always remember. But it doesn’t give license to everything or experiences that happen is so called Spirit filled churches. Nor does it justify most Spirit filled people relying on their experiences instead of the Word of God.

      You said:

      “Christians are known to be followers of Christ and there seems to be so much criticism as to what is Christ-like and what’s not. “

      I think you have a great thought here. What does it mean to be Christ like?

      1Jn 3:7 Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as he is righteous.

      This is what it means to be Christ like. This Spirit is convict us, draw us, teach us, give us new hearts, be our seal until the time we are redeemed, give each one of us a gift so the church may become mature in all things. But being slain, I have not ever been able to see how it does any of this. Nor can I support it in the Word of God. I personally am very suspicious of many “Spirit filled” ministries. I hear the Word of God misrepresented, abused and ignored. It drives me nuts!

      Every cult leader has had their people tied up in emotional experiences, I would rather be tied up in the Word of God. I would rather have world find me “mad”, as Paul uses the word, because I know, live and teach the Word of God, than find me mad because I experience something that does nothing to advance the Word of God to a lost world.

  6. Alan Higgins says:

    Corey, I never said that I had a problem with emotions, I said emotions are no an indication of truth. There is NOWHERE in scripture of people being slain in the spirit. Once you allow experience to be the test of truth, then you can’t limit doctrine to the pages of scripture. Now if you remember, Derren Brown had that fake healer on channel 4 some time ago and people were ‘slain in the sprit’ then also. Im sure they FELT something there also but it was obviously not of God because he as just an actor. Peter Popoff was caught using electrical equipment to get people names and addresses but pretending and lying that he got a word of knowledge. People FELT something then. Again that was not God. Those from other religions FEEL things….and the list can go on with examples when feelings were deceiving. As I stated, the bible makes it clear that Satan will deceive many with lying wonders, no doubt making people will FEEL things when he does. It is clear then that we cannot rely on our feelings to be a test of truth. We must rely on something outside of ourselves and that is scripture. We must test ALL things and test EVERY spirit.

    To answer your question about if the old believers criticised Paul, they did exactly what I do and encourage you and everyone else to do also. Compare what you see in church to do the scriptures

    Acts 17:11 Now these Jews were more noble than those in Thessalonica; they received the word with all eagerness, EXAMINING THE SCRIPTURES DAILY TO SEE IF THESE THINGS WERE SO

    As seen above, even they didnt just swallow what Paul fed them. They looked at the scriptures and made sure that what they were taught lined up. But christians today are so ready to swallow what we are taught from the ‘man of God’ without ever checking the scriptures to see ‘if those things are so’. See http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2009/01/19/should-we-ever-question-what-the-man-of-god-says/

    Either we have the scriptures as the FINAL authority or we dont.

    • Maybe I’m reading into this much, but you seem to draw conclusions—even if by example—to make void what Spirit did. I humbly ask how do you know or what gives you the authority to dictate what took place with people being moved/affected by Spirit. I understand that you, myself included, use scripture as the end all be all. With that said, and the Spirit moving as IT will, with us doing greater works than Christ by His Spirit, and with the disciples doing things that Christ did not do (using handkerchiefs, etc. to heal), if all this is the case, why is it not plausible that a man of can put his hands on someone and the Spirit, or presence of God overtake them?

  7. Corey says:

    Alan, the book of Acts is the history of how the church began, but the book of Acts does not stop at chapter 28, it is on going until Armageddon. It’s not written anywhere in scripture what Paul did with a handkerchief or apron. . .

    So Carols sister, what your explanation ?

    My experiences, what’s your explanation ?

    • Alan Higgins says:

      You and Carol’s experience are not the final authority. Scripture is. Google Marjoe Gortner. People who were in his meetings will say they had EXACTLY the same feelings as you both. So were their feelings authentic also? Not sure if the videos are still there but check out http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/how-false-prophets-work/

      • So where did our experiences come from ?

        • Also what are the list of emotions I could of been experiencing when got slained.

          • Alan Higgins says:

            Quote: “My feelings are not God. God is God. My feelings do not define truth. God’s word defines truth. My feelings are echoes and responses to what my mind perceives. And sometimes–many times–my feelings are out of sync with the truth. When that happens–and it happens every day in some measure–I try not to bend the truth to justify my imperfect feelings, but rather, I plead with God: Purify my perceptions of your truth and transform my feelings so that they are in sync with the truth.” I think that with my series, we will not really agree because I come from the standpoint that scripture is the FINAL authority where you don’t seem to have the same standard. In this case, you have elevated your feelings above scripture. If your feelings say one thing and scripture says another, going by what you have stated, you will go with your feelings as if your feelings can always be trusted.

        • I wonder the same thing when I hear Mormons who claim to have the same experiences in their fellowships. They are good people with the wrong faith and serve a false god, yet they can talk about the “spirit” like you and I could.

          Sooooo… you have a great question. Where did your experience come from and where did their experience come from. If had not known they were Mormon I would have thought they went to your church, by their experiences.

          Another thing. I see a trend with people, who rightfully believe in the Spirit and the gifts of the Spirit, putting “so called” spiritual experiences above the written Word. Sadly, many are spoon fed the Word of God and they are ignorant of scripture because they think what their pastor teaches them about the Spirit, based on their experiences is enough. This should not be.

  8. Now Alan, maybe I should let you talk to a bunch of 10 year old’s you can rebuke them for faking it or they have demon. One of those 10 year old’s was my step daughter.

    • Alan Higgins says:

      Corey, have you ever heard of the power of suggestion? Look at the video as an example. But again you are lifting feelings above scripture. So here is a question to you. With Derren Brown’s fake healer and with fake Peter Popoff, we know they were blatantly fake, yet the people they touched were also ‘slain in the spirit’ and they would say the same thing about their feelings that you are saying about yours. Was that truly the power of God and were their feelings authentic?

      • Alan, the pastor never suggestion anything, they were praying. . .

        Also you mentioned Derren Brown’s fake healer, and also how this churches seem to do there same thing as some of these new age.

        So I guess Mose was a fake, because they also copied him in there day.

        EX 7.10-12
        So Moses and Aaron went to Pharaoh and did just as the Lord commanded. Aaron threw his staff down in front of Pharaoh and his officials, and it became a snake. Pharaoh then summoned the wise men and sorcerers, and the Egyptian magicians also did the same things by their secret arts: each one threw down his staff and it became a snake.

        Was Jesus wrong for feeling power go out from Him?

        Luke 8:46
        The Message (MSG)
        46 Jesus insisted, “Someone touched me. I FELT power discharging from me.”

        • Alan Higgins says:

          I’ll ask the question again. When Derren Brown’s fake healer and and fake Peter Popoff had these healing events, and the people were ‘slain in the spirit’, did they feel the geuine power of God?I’ll ask the question again. When Derren Brown’s fake healer and and fake Peter Popoff had these healing events, and the people were ‘slain in the spirit’, did they feel the geuine power of God or is it possible that the feeling that they thought was authentic wasn’t authentic after all?

          • Corey says:

            Alan, most points I have raised you have not answered. I put questions to you regarding the pleading the blood but you didn’t answer.

            Now as for your question above, as far as I know Derren Brown is a none believer. As for Peter Popoff, I have heard of him but I don’t watch his ministry. Also I was not there, so feel free to make your judgement or pray for him.

            James 4:11-12 (NKJV)

            [11] Do not speak evil of one another, brethren. He who speaks evil of a brother and judges his brother, speaks evil of the law and judges the law. But if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge. [12] There is one Lawgiver,* who is able to save and to destroy. Who* are you to judge another?

            Now you can answer my question regarding Mose. .

            • Alan Higgins says:

              We obviously are not going to get anywhere so I think I will just leave it here as I like to stick to the point at hand. By the way, the bible does allow us to use righteous judgment and Peter Popoff is not speculation, it is a fact. He was caught out using recording equipment pretending he knew people’s names and people have been ‘slain’ in his meetings too. This is what happens when you elevate feelings above scripture. I also that you have been arguing your point on all my blog series so far but yet NOT ONE have you found in scripture … not unless the scripture is twisted. Pleading the blood is not there, the command for us to tithe is not there, the command for us to get a confirmation is not there, being slain in the spirit is not there. Because we have two separate plumlines, we will not agree on a lot of things in this series. Get ready for the next one :c)

  9. corey says:

    Alan, these children were no where near the preacher and there was no laying of hands. It was pure a simply the presence of God.

    • Alan Higgins says:

      Corey, I never stated that the person had to be near the preacher or that they had to have hands laid on them. That is very clear from the video clip. But would you like to answer my question?

  10. Corey says:

    So here’s a question to all of you, I am I born again, am I saved ?

    • glasseyedave says:

      I’ll bite. What do you mean by saved? Saved as eternally secure? Saved as in possessing eternal life? Saved as no longer being a slave to sin?

      How do you mean saved when you say you are born again?

      glasseyedave
      thegospelaccordingtothegospel.com

      • Corey says:

        According to the word of God in . . .

        Romans 10:9-11 (NLT)
        [9] For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. [10] For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. [11] As the Scriptures tell us, “Anyone who believes in him will not be disappointed.* ”

        And in . .

        John 3:16-21 (NLT)
        [16] “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. [17] God did not send his Son into the world to condemn it, but to save it.
        [18] “There is no judgment awaiting those who trust him. But those who do not trust him have already been judged for not believing in the only Son of God. [19] Their judgment is based on this fact: The light from heaven came into the world, but they loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. [20] They hate the light because they want to sin in the darkness. They stay away from the light for fear their sins will be exposed and they will be punished. [21] But those who do what is right come to the light gladly, so everyone can see that they are doing what God wants.”

        And any where else in scripture you want to point out.

  11. Corey says:

    Galatians 6:1-6 (NLT)
    Galatians 6
    We Reap What We Sow
    [6:1] Dear brothers and sisters, if another Christian* is overcome by some sin, you who are godly should gently and humbly help that person back onto the right path. And be careful not to fall into the same temptation yourself. [2] Share each other’s troubles and problems, and in this way obey the law of Christ. [3] If you think you are too important to help someone in need, you are only fooling yourself. You are really a nobody.

    [4] Be sure to do what you should, for then you will enjoy the personal satisfaction of having done your work well, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else. [5] For we are each responsible for our own conduct.

  12. Corey says:

    A word you seem to use a lot is command, but the bible clearly tells me that i should be led by the Holy Spirit. and how would i know if its the Holy Spirit, according to His fruit.

    Galatians 5:25 (NLT)
    [25] If we are living now by the Holy Spirit, let us follow the Holy Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives.

  13. Alan Higgins says:

    The reason why I use command is because people say that we MUST/SHOULD do certain things e.g tithing where this is clearly not scriptural

  14. Truth says:

    I have experienced a pastor of a church I went to trying to push me to the floor and I have also experienced genuinely what some term being slain in the spirit. I don’t like the label but we know what people mean. I think we need to be careful not to generalise and say that anyone who has this experience is either under the influence of a spirit other than the spirit of God which is what some say or that because it is nowhere outlined in scripture it is false
    The Christians who argue against this phenomena really being from the Lord base their arguments on the following reasons:

    1.Every time people fell when the presence of God would manifest, they would always fall on their faces, not fall backward.

    2.Nowhere in the Bible do the prophets, the apostles, or Jesus Himself ever lay hands on someone and then the power of God comes through their hands to knock them backward.

    3.The only time people fell in the presence of God was when God was rendering some type of judgment.
    Now to some arguments that will counter some of the above arguments if you should ever need them in any kind of debate.

    Arguments For Being Slain in the Spirit
    I will take each one of the above arguments and see if I can give you an opposing point of view in order to try and defend this phenomena as being from the Lord.

    1. The First Argument – people always falling face down rather than falling backwards. Granted, 5 of the above 9 verses specifically state that these people had fallen on their faces rather than falling backward.

    However, the other 4 verses say they simply “fell to the ground,” or that they “could not stand” when the presence of God would manifest. Who is to say that when these people fell to the ground, they could not have been falling backwards. These verses do not say if they fell forward or backward, so I believe this means they could have fallen either way – thus showing that there was the possibility of falling backwards when the presence of God would manifest.

    The first verse says that the priests “could not stand” when the manifest presence of God would enter into the temple. Again, they could have easily as been falling backwards as well as falling forward. Since Scripture does not specifically say in which direction they were falling, I believe we are on safe ground making the assumption that these 4 other verses give us the possibility of people falling backwards whenever the presence of God would manifest.

    2. The Second Argument – stating that at no time did Jesus or the apostles ever lay hands on people causing them fall backwards. Though I could not find any actual Scripture verses that did show this phenomena occurring as it does today by the laying on of hands, I feel the key argument for the possibility of this phenomena occurring is the following argument:

    Sometimes when the presence of God would manifest like described in the above verses, people did fall to the ground. No question about it. However, there were other times God would manifest His presence and people would not fall to the ground. This thus was a manifestation that was completely controlled by God. He, and He alone, would decide when people would get knocked to the ground and when they would not whenever He would manifest His presence.

    I think the key point to really grab a hold of is that this phenomena can occur when God does decide to manifest His presence in this particular way. And sometimes God will manifest His presence through the hands of a pastor or minister. And if He does decide to manifest His presence through the hands of a minister, then I believe it is only logical to conclude that God can knock people down to the ground like He did back in the Bible days if He should choose to do so.

    There is no question that the manifest presence of God is coming through a pastor or minister when hands are being laid on someone for a healing. The manifest presence and power of God will literally flow through the hands of the pastor or minister and flow right into the person’s body, and then the Holy Spirit Himself will do the healing once inside the person’s body.

    If “healing power” can come through a minister’s hands, then why not “knockdown power?” God can either knock someone over with a direct hit Himself, or through the hands of someone who is operating under His anointing at any given moment. I believe God can and does go either way with this particular manifestation.

    3. The Third Argument – God only knocked people down when rendering some type of judgment on them. Look closely at the above 9 verses. It was only on the apostle Paul that God was rendering judgment on when He knocked him to the ground. The others were priests of the temple, prophets like Ezekiel and John the Revelator, or the apostles themselves. None of them were under any kind of direct judgment when this phenomena was occurring.

    Conclusions
    1. Being slain in the Spirit is simply when the presence and power of God comes directly at you causing you to either fall forward or backward. This power can either come directly through the hands of someone operating under the Lord’s anointing at any given moment, or directly at you by God Himself, such as when you see people falling to the ground while just sitting in their seats with no one laying a hand on them.

    This manifestation of God’s power can either come directly at you very lightly where you just start to lose your balance and then proceed to fall. Or it can come at you very strongly to the point where you cannot resist it and you are literally blown to the ground. When this happens, it looks like a cannonball is hitting someone right in the stomach and they fall backwards with a fair amount of force. God decides how strong He will manifest this kind of power when He does decide to manifest it on someone.

    Granted, there will always be some people in a church service who will be falling backwards out of their own flesh. The power of God is not causing them to fall backward. They just want to be part of the crowd and they will fall backwards all on their own. However, you cannot throw out the baby with the bathwater on this manifestation just because some people will always choose to act out of their flesh.

    2. So what happens when people are slain in the Spirit? Sometimes just a nice, restful, peaceful, relaxed feeling will come over the person. Sometimes people can receive inner and/or outer healings while resting in the Spirit. Some people can receive visions, instructions, or advice from the Lord on a situation that He may want to deal with them on. People can rest anywhere in the Spirit from 1-2 minutes or as long as 4-6 hours if God would choose to go that long with a particular individual.

    For those of you who would like additional information on this phenomenon – there is a book titled “Overcome by the Spirit” by Francis MacNutt. Francis MacNutt is an ex-Catholic priest who received a very powerful healing ministry from the Lord. He noticed that this phenomenon would occur quite often whenever he would lay hands on people for their healings.

    He interviewed many people after they had fallen in the Spirit to find out what their reactions were, and exactly what had happened to them while they were resting in the Spirit. There are many direct quotes from the people he interviewed and it was all very positive.

    He came to the conclusion that being slain in the Spirit was a very real manifestation of God that was occurring because of all the good fruit it produced in the people who had experienced this phenomena. He said some of the actual healings that came through his ministry occurred when people were resting in the Spirit after he had initially laid hands on them.

    This man, in my opinion, is a true servant of God. He explored this phenomenon with complete objectivity back in the 1970’s. He covers, in this most informative book, all of the things that he saw happen when this manifestation would occur.

    Testimony of a man who had this encounter
    About 20 years ago, I worked with a man who was a very devout Catholic. He was married with 2 girls, ages 8 and 11. There was a priest from Chicago who had come down for the Sunday service. I cannot recall the name of the priest, but he had a healing ministry and he did a lot of traveling with the healing gift that God had given him. He too found that people would fall backwards whenever he would lay hands on them.

    On the Sunday this event occurred, this man, his wife and his two girls all went to see this priest. When this priest then made the call for anyone to come up and have hands laid on them, all four of them went up just to see if God would do anything with any of them.

    My friend said that absolutely nothing happened to either him, his wife, or his older 11-year-old daughter. They felt no power come against them and none of them fell backwards in the Spirit.

    However, his youngest daughter, who was 8 years of age, was hit hard! He said she went down like a ton of bricks. He said it looked like a cannonball or bowling ball hit her right in the stomach blowing her backwards with great force. There obviously was a catcher behind her when she fell backward.

    He said the minute she hit the ground, she started bawling profusely. He said she was crying as hard as she could. My friend initially thought there was something wrong with her because she was crying so hard. He then started to go over to see what was wrong with her, but he received an immediate check from the Holy Spirit that he was not to go near her, that God was doing something very special with her.

    He said that she laid on the ground crying as hard as she could for a good 10-15 minutes. After the 10-15 minutes, she all of a sudden quit crying and stood up. He immediately went over to her and started to walk with her outside. When they got outside, he turned to her and asked her why she had been crying so hard after she had been slain in the Spirit.

    I will never forget these words as long as I live. This little 8-year-old girl turned to her daddy and said with a real big smile on her face:

    “Daddy, Daddy, He felt so good, He felt so good!”

    God was obviously manifesting His loving presence all over this little girl for the 10-15 minutes that she was “resting in the Spirit” to the point that she was crying as hard as she could. She obviously was in the manifest presence of God and He was allowing her to literally feel His love for her.

    As I was driving home from work that day after hearing the above story, I then tapped in and asked God what had happened and was that really Him that did all of that.

    These three words immediately came up out of my spirit and again, I will never forget these three words. The three words were – “I touched her” – with an emphasis on the word “touch.”

    I then immediately started to laugh. He touched her, but she went down like a ton of bricks! I really felt like God was telling me two things with these three specific words:

    1.That it was His manifest presence that blew her backwards causing her to fall like she did, and that it was His manifest presence stirring on the inside of her causing her to cry as hard as she did.

    2.The fact that she told her dad that “He felt so good” – showed that God had to be literally manifesting His love to her where she could physically feel it all over her body.
    You will each have to come to your own conclusions as to whether or not you feel this is a true manifestation from God. For those of you who do believe that this is a real manifestation from the Lord, the above Scripture verses, and arguments off those Scripture verses, can give you some ammunition should you ever find yourself in a heated debate with another Christian over this topic.

    As for myself, I really do believe this phenomenon is a true and powerful manifestation from the Lord when it really is Him doing it. But as with all of the other manifestations from God, there are always demons out there who will try and counterfeit some of His manifestations, along with other people just acting out and pretending God is manifesting on them when He is really not doing so. These people are either operating under the power of suggestion, or they simply want to be part of the crowd if they see other people truly falling under the power of God.

    But do not let counterfeit activity from the dark side, or some people acting out of their flesh prejudice you against what I feel is a very powerful and wonderful manifestation from the Lord when He does decide to do it on someone.

    For those of you who have been truly slain in the Spirit, you know exactly what I am talking about since you have had this real experience. For those of you who have not – I challenge you to go direct to God the Father in prayer and ask Him to personally show you if this manifestation is something that is really coming from Him or not. God loves it when you start to press in and ask Him specific questions on anything you may really want an answer on. Ask, and you may just receive His direct answer on this topic!

    • Alan Higgins says:

      Truth, thanks for your comments. I will respond to this within the next few days when I get a chance to look at each point properly. Thanks again. Alan

    • Truth says:

      Sorry I forgot the scripture references –

      1.“… that then the house was filled with a cloud, even the house of the Lord; so that the priests could not stand to minister by reason of the cloud; for the glory of the Lord had filled the house of God.” (2 Chronicles 5:14)

      2.Jesus said to them, “I am He.” And Judas, who betrayed Him, also stood with them. Then when He said to them. “I am He,” – they drew back and fell to the ground.” (John 18:6)

      3.“And when I saw Him, I fell at His feet as dead. But He laid His right hand on me, saying to me, “Do not be afraid; I am the First and the Last.” (Revelation 1:17)

      4.“And when the disciples heard it, they fell on their faces and were greatly afraid.” But Jesus came and touched them and said, “Arise, and do not be afraid.” (Matthew 17:6)

      5.“And as he journeyed he came near Damascus, and suddenly a light shone around him from heaven. Then he fell to the ground, and heard a voice saying to him, “Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting Me?” (Acts 9:3-4)

      6.“So I arose and went out into the plain, and behold, the glory of the Lord stood there, like the glory which I saw by the River Chebar; and I fell on my face.” (Ezekiel 3:23)

      7.“Then the Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and he saw the Angel of the Lord standing in the way with His drawn sword in His hand; and he bowed his head and fell flat on his face.” (Numbers 22:31)

      8.“And behold, the glory of the God of Israel came from the way of the east. His voice was like the sound of many waters; and the earth shone with His glory. It was like the appearance of the vision which I saw – like the vision which I saw when I came to destroy the city. The visions were like the vision which I saw by the River Chebar; and I fell on my face.” (Ezekiel 43:2-3)

      9.“Then He brought me by way of the north gate to the front of the temple; so I looked, and behold, the glory of the Lord filled the house of the Lord; and I fell on my face.” (Ezekiel 44:4)

      • Alan Higgins says:

        2 Chron 5:14 Gives no indication that they fell. It just says that they ‘could not stand’ and indeed some other translations do not even say that. It says that they ‘could not perform their duties’ so I do not think that this text could be used to prove anything conclusively
        You also stated that ‘He, and He alone, would decide when people would get knocked to the ground’ but this is clearly not the case with the majority of those who practice this. THEY decide when to do this and normally (and I stress normally) it is within some kind of meeting. So we have to ask yourself, is God’s presence mostly shown up in healing/deliverance type meetings? Doesnt God in the person of the Holy Spirit now live INSIDE the believer unlike the old testament. He is always present with us.
        “The Third Argument – God only knocked people down when rendering some type of judgment on them. Look closely at the above 9 verses”. I never stated that. I said that Why is it that the only place in scripture where people fell backwards due to the power of God was the wicked men who came to arrest Jesus? and you quoted it in John 18:6
        Why is it that if it is the power and presence of God that you hardly see the ‘catcher’ fall as well but they are ready to catch the slained person? Does God’s power somehow miss them.
        I remember some time back, I was at a Morris Cerullo meeting and he told everyone to hold hands and then he blew. I decided in my heart that I was not going to fall and I didnt (well, the person next to me dragged me down). So was I too strong for God?
        Again, when these self professed actors and fake healers pretend to be real and people (who I do believe are sincere believers) are slain and have no idea that they are fake and feel similar feelings to what you have stated and they could say the same things about what they felt, we have to ask ourself a few questions. Did God use a fake vessel to manifest his power or did the people get influenced in some way. Again, I believe that a lot of these people are genuine believers but I do not believe that God will show his power in the way that you have stated through someone who has blatantly gone out if his way to deceive.
        So for me, the safest way is to stick to the scriptures. If I do not see ANY instance of people being slain in the spirit as we see it today, then I will question its practice. Once we go outside of scripture, we start tredding on dangerous grounds and leave ourself open to deception.

  15. I’m a bit torn on the issue. On one hand you have millions of genuine people experience this. On the other, it is not specifically SAID in Bible.I feel, as scripture says, the Spirit moves as It wills. I don’t think it is out of the realm of possibility that God could use a man or woman of God as a vessel to lay someone out. “Slain in the spirit” gives a generic, cultish undertone, in my humble opionion. The presence of God falling or touching an individual by means of a believer is biblical, though. Peter healing people by his shadow, the woman being healed touching Christ garment. This, in my opinion, makes it plausible,as the lying on of hands would fall under this category. As the gospels say, Christ did many things that were not recorded. He also said, by His spirit, we would do greater works than Him. Are there corrupt men and women who pretend? Yes. But it does not negate the work of the Spirit. Again, I am on the fence on this issue. I have not experienced it, but the Spirit moves as it will. Our thoughts and ways are not God’s ways, and millions of people are not going to fake an experience. Thinking logically, I think think legalism in the Body of Christ limits what the Spirit can do for some Christians. Peace

Leave a Reply

