If you are anything you like me, you are probably more consistent with your bible study life then your prayer life (or vice versa). It is so easy to not make dedicated prayer a priority in our daily christian life and what normally happens is that God gets the left overs at the end of the day (if he gets anything at all). My friend once told me that urgency is the enemy of importance and what he meant by that is we often do things which we think is urgent e.g. housework at the expense of what is important i.e. spending time with God in prayer. Martha had the same problem

Luke 10:38-42

38Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. 39She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word.40But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.”41But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things;42but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

Click here to listen to a message by John Piper that has helped me tremondously in changing my prayer life and making it consistent. I strongly recommend listening to it but if you want, you can read the transcript here

As a summary, let your prayer be

F – Free and Formed

A – Alone and Assembled

D – Desperate and Delighted

E – Explosive and Extended

S – Spontaneous and scheduled

And remember, your prayers will be answered in the way you asked…..or in a better way

Comments
  1. Metaphyzxx says:

    Dude, this is tight. I’ll be honest, I’m a lot more dilligent with my word than with my prayer. So I’m filled with knowledge, but in times of the storm, I get knocked around a LOT. I’m just blessed that I know the rock upon which I stand.

Leave a Reply

