In writing these blogs, sometimes the sin of pride can easily creep up by stealth. It is something that I recognise I have to kill on a daily basis because I know the sin in my own life and how depraved my nature is. It is so easy for us who have come out of the foolish ways of modern day christianity to think like the pharisees.

9 Also He spoke this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others: 10 “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, ‘God, I thank You that I am not like other men—extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this tax collector. 12 I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I possess.’ 13 And the tax collector, standing afar off, would not so much as raise his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me a sinner!’ 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.” (Luke 18:9-14)

Believe me when I say that I realise what a wretched sinner I am and dont deserve anything from God. I can say with Paul that “I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells” (Romans 7:18)

This is not to say that we cease from calling out false doctrine and teachers as I firmly believe in these days, it is necessary that we do so. But at the same time we have to be very cautious that while we do this, that we do not become self-righteous.

God resists the proud,But gives grace to the humble. (James 4:6)

We also have to examine our motives at all times. Are we exposing falsehood because of the commandment to contend for the faith and defend truth, or is it to show off how much doctrine we know, to ‘put these other preachers in their place’ or to prove our point and win an argument.

Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall (1 Cor 10:12)

Let us always be on the lookout for the sin of pride and kill it when it appears, through the power of the Holy Spirit

Comments
  1. Sicarii says:

    Alan, I share the same sentiments as you do, and I am wary of the big “P” word often. I don’t think I know theology better than anyone else, but I think I know when I hear something preached out of context.

    Other times, the pride comes in not admitting that we made a bad call and we insist on being right. That’s another pitfall that I can often get snared in, and I am still learning to say “yes I was wrong, I apologize.”

    Great post — it definitely resounded with me!

    Shalom.

  2. mizpah31 says:

    Hi Alan, what you’ve written here is very true. Pride is what separated Lucifer from God. There’s another form of pride that can be just as dangerous. That’s religious pride. A few years ago my wife and I started to attend a medium size church that has been around for over 100 years. As we were introduced to people the first thing they would tell us was how long they’d been members and they’d go into details about what building the church was in when they joined and about all their relations before them that were members. Of course we’d smile and say how wonderful it all was. No one said anything about how they had come to Christ. And we have friends and even close relations who belong to other denominations and it’s obvious that their whole focus is on their religion, their doctrine, the catechism the creeds their founder and so on. If I suggest to them that religion was not God’s idea but Satan’s and that religion originated at the Tower of Babel and that many of the old pagan rituals from there are still in the religions of today they get upset. Christianity isn’t a religion. It’s a relationship with God made possible by Jesus paying the penalty for our sins on the Cross. But religious pride blots that truth out and going to Heaven is their right as members of this church to which they belong. So I’d say this is an area of pride that can put people in danger. We won’t be in Heaven because we belong to the “Right Church.” If we get there it will be because we asked Jesus to forgive our sins and to be the Lord of our lives. We’ll stand before God dressed in Jesus’s righteousness instead of our sin because He loves us and He took our sin upon Himself and paid the price. Praise His Holy Name. Mizpah

  3. Daniel says:

    pride is a killer disease. I appreciate that I have tried to purge pride and arrogance from my speech and am not sure if i have succeeded in any. I remembered that Jesus said that “without me ye can do nothing” then I said even my trials were in vain. What we need to do to deal with pride in our daily lives is to completely surrender our lives to Christ Jesus and all the fruits of the Spirit will grow naturally. Daniel

Leave a Reply

