The conclusion is simply this. Be a Berean.

Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. (Acts 17:11)

When it comes down to spiritual matter, dont let anybody spoon feed you all the time. Always, and I mean always examine the scriptures for yourself to see if what is being taught lines up with the Word of God. This will take skill and time as a lot of people appear to be preaching the word of God but they are not rightly dividing the word of truth as we are instructed to do (2 Tim 2:15). Understand some basic rules of biblical interpretation. This will save you a lot of pain and will help you greatly in discerning truth from error. Maybe use some of these free tools.

Wolf/Sheep

There is a lot of deception out there, even on so called ‘christian’ television. We have no shortage of preachers or teachers but there is definitely a famine for the word of God. I would say that most popular tele-evangelists on TV do not preach the word of God. The bible consistently warns us about deceivers and admonishes us to test EVERTHING.

Then many false prophets will rise up and deceive many. (Matthew 24:11)

Now I urge you, brethren, note those who cause divisions and offenses, contrary to the doctrine which you learned, and avoid them. 18 For those who are such do not serve our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly, and by smooth words and flattering speech deceive the hearts of the simple. (Romans 16:17-18)

Test all things; hold fast what is good. (1 Thes 5:21)

Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits, whether they are of God; because many false prophets have gone out into the world. (1 John 4:1)

Do not even take my words as gospel but line up my postings with scripture and if they do not match up, reject it. My prayer is that this series has opened your eyes, challenged your traditional thinking, but most of all give glory to God through a correct understanding of his word so that you will not be duped when a teacher comes with false teaching.

If this series has been of help to you, please let me know. If it hasnt, please let me know. I welcome any comments positive or negative (in love of course) 🙂

Remember to pray for these teachers.

Related posts:

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 1 – A Form of godliness

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 2 – Scripture Twisting

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 3 – The abuse of biblical numerlogy

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 4 – Man Centered Theology

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 5 – The Prosperity Gospel

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers (Interlude) – My reason for doing this

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 6 – Denial that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 7 – Signs and Wonders

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 8 – Deconstruction

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 9 – Giving False Hope

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 10 – The misuse of old testament scriptures

The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 11 – The Gospel of Inclusion

Comments
  1. Marianne says:

    Good blog. I would like to refer people here

    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/

  2. Isaiah says:

    Great conclusion, Alan.

    Be a Berean, i.e. search the Scriptures for oneself and pray to God for the wisdom to understand His Word. There are some who think they are being Bereans spending hours listening to and reading what others have said or written instead of time on God’s Word.

    The ultimate authority is God’s Word (Sola Scriptura) and that’s the standard we need to carry.

    Shalom!

  3. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    What a way to end the series! Scripture is the only way to steer clear of the false teachers. It’s been a great series and [much unlike me] you’ve been able to be clear about it

  4. Alan,

    I agree with this post – and I pray that it helps me blog (in love) about the wolves here in the USA.

    We can call out the pulpit pimps and wolves all day long, but the purpose that most of us serve is to direct others to Him. Period.

    If I had emulated the Bereans 11 years ago, I wouldn’t have fallen prey to my former pulpit pimps. Thank God for His Grace and His love for me, and His desire that I know Him fully for myself.

    We have a bad habit of imitating baby birds – closing our eyes, holding our heads back and opening our mouths to be spoon fed the garbage that we’re receiving.

    I pray that others find this article to be inspiring…I’m learning how to speak the truth – in love 🙂

  5. Franklin says:

    Thank you. From the televangelist, to the very church I joined for a short time. Some things puzzled me, this shed some light onto my confusion. I’m glad/ and in a lot of ways humbled that god led me to this website. You have provided me with some good insight into discerning truth from fiction. Thanks.

  6. Dean says:

    As you I too feel a strong repulsion for the misuse of the Word of God. It pains me to see the pain and confusion I have see so many suffer resulting from the lies being put forward as a word of the Lord. I have family members who adhered to the prosperity/false promises/man based theology of the emeging church. And I am amazed at how wide spread this is, its DEEP into the thinking of todays church. As one video you posted about the “prosperity pimps”, the preacher rightly states, we Need the men of God to preach the truth, where are they?

    I am just one man, a simple believer, bent on giving only God the glory for everything and anything because it ALL comes from Him anyway. It IS for His good pleasure that He’s done what He’s done and thats it, theres nothing else to add to it. But preach and share I will, regardless of how well it recieved. Its Him to whom we give account…… Well done brother, this is a good and true message the church needs, especially in these times.

    See you at His feet…….

Leave a Reply

