Lately I have been listening to quite a lot of Christian Hip Hop. Why? Because I am finding that a lot of these reformed rappers have songs that are jam packed with theological truths. I’m sure Doug and Daniel can second me on this one when I say that you can get more teaching in one song than what you get in a lot of churches in a year. People like G Craige Lewis have made the mistake of throwing out the baby with the bath water and labelling all hip hop as wordly. While there is a lot of corrupt hip hop out there, God has a remnant of rappers who will boldly proclaim Gods truth.

For example please listen to ALL of the clip below. I love the way Shai Linne presents the gospel at the end and wish many more christian artists will expound the gospel as clear on their set and not just a ‘give your heart to Jesus’ message.

Below is an example of Shai Linne rapping about the Triune God. Take a listen

Even if its not your thing, please remember to pray for these artists.

HT: Recover the Gospel

Related Posts:

A Treat for you Holy Hip Hop Heads

Rappers Exposed

Comments
  1. Kevin says:

    There is a strong reformed movement in the hip hop scene right now being led by Da Truth, Lecrae, Ambassador and cross movement. Their theology is solid, and their application of the gospel in mission to a lost culture is impeccable. You should also google Ambassador and read the lyrics to his songs, Wretched man, The Fall, My Clothes My Hair…some rich theology applied to mission in these lyrics. You should also check out http://www.EpiphanyFellowship.org and you can download sermons by Ambassador aka Pastor William “Duce” Branch. Check out the sermons on The one and only gospel. As I once heard Da Truth say, “rapping is the easy part, keeping the lyrics biblical is the hard part.”

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    Thanks Kevin. I have Ambassadors album but I will definitely look at the links you posted

  3. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    I agree with you Kevin that Reformed thought has a major voice on the scene right now. Shai Linne has even done a whole album articulating the Reformed understanding of the Atonement, with sermon clips from John Piper and C.J. Mahaney. I think it’s great…at least Holy Hip-Hop isn’t gone the way of Gospel, as I’m sure you’d agree Bro. Alan

  4. Alan Higgins says:

    Definitely Doug.

  5. We been saying this for sometime now Alan. Good to still see you writing. Inspiring me to come out of my hiatus.

  6. Daniel says:

    Thats what im talking about! good stuff.

  7. Great post. I agree that hip-hop can serve as a great medium for spreading the “theological truths” of which you speak.

    Christian hip-hop puts rappers in a unique situation that allows them to take the teachings of the Bible and interpret them using their own language and rhyme styles – thus putting those teachings in a more modern-day context. Perhaps listening to these lessons from the hip-hop worldview will allow us to better understand how they apply to human beings today.

  8. Hey guys, I’m super encouraged to see other people responding to artists like Shai Linne. I credit Q&A by Shai Linne to be something that’s truly made me take a second (and third, and forth) glance at Doctrine. theResurgence.com just posted part 1 of a part-x series on Reformed Rap.

    Recently, I started to get concerned that HHH was taking the route of hip hop in general — that is, becoming less content-focused and more hype-based. I think a lot of the world, Christian or not, is getting tired with the flash, smoke and mirrors, and I’m so excited to see this wave of Hip Hop leading the Way.

    Any music that gives way to sharing the Gospel of Christ, that proclaims that Jesus is King, and that without Him we’re basically screwed, is fine with me. Keep up the good work realChristianity. you guys just earned a follower.

    the madhatter

    • hip hop done the Gospel way has tremendous effects on our youth. There are many songs out there loaded with theologically true message packed the hip hop way. Christian youth, let us rise u and reclaim the good music to USE TO GLORIFY God.

Leave a Reply

