Some of us take the five solas for granted but there are many people (including christians) who do not understand them so I thought I would take some time to go through each one and hopefully explain them in laymens terms.

Sola Scriptura is simply the belief that scripture, and scripture alone, is the final authority in all things and is the foundation for christian living

Paul told Timothy in 2 Tim 3:14-17

16 ALL Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, 17 that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

In the UK where I live, there are laws. These laws rest outside of myself and it doesnt matter what I think, the lawmakers have made those laws and I have to abide by them because it is the final authority (apart from God of course but I hope you get my anaolgy). I cannot change the laws on a daily basis to suit myself or to suit black culture, for example. To not have any final authority will just create chaos because who is to say that you are right and I am wrong?

Well in the same way, when it comes to God, there must be something that rests outside of myself which is the final authority, when it comes to spiritual matters and we find that authority in the scriptures. There must be right and wrong. Truth and error. I cannot make God’s authority come down to my level based on the culture or tradition of the day or what something means ‘to me’. Jesus told the Pharisees that they had “made the word of God of no effect through their traditions” (Mark 7:13). When the Saduccess questioned Jesus about the resurrection, he did not say “You are mistaken, not knowing the tradition” but “You are mistaken (wrong), not knowing the Scriptures” (Matthew 22:29)

Well the next question has to be surely if it is going to be the final authority, then how can we know that it is reliable? For further study on this, I would advise that you click here to have many of these questions answered

So as I have stated before, when it comes down to theology, doctrine or any worldview, be a Berean.

Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. (Acts 17:11)

Dont let anybody spoon feed you all the time. Always, and I mean always examine the scriptures for yourself to see if what is being taught lines up with the Word of God. This will take skill and time as a lot of people appear to be preaching the word of God but they are not rightly dividing the word of truth as we are instructed to do (2 Tim 2:15). Understand some basic rules of biblical interpretation. This will save you a lot of pain and will help you greatly in discerning truth from error. Maybe use some of these free tools.

Sola Scriptura!!

Related Post:

Is the New Testament Text Reliable?

The Five Solas – Solas Christus (Christ Alone)

The Five Solas – Solas Gratia (By Grace Alone)

The Five Solas – Sola Fide (By Faith Alone)

The Five Solas – Soli Deo Gloria (Glory To God Alone)

Comments
  1. lavrai says:

    What your write reminds me of a post I did last week…about how Christians seem to neglect what our LORD and Saviour told all his disciples about looking to the world for direction — instead of Him.

    May I post an excerpt?

    “There is one thing (out of many) that behooves me about so-called Christians. It seems eternally and without fail that these Christians are always the first to sign up for the latest cult and join the latest heretical, blasphemous bandwagon. Why? Why would you, one who calls him/herself a Christian, seek after another Jesus?

    I am speaking specifically of the folks who follow the Jim Joneses, the David Kureshes, the Jose Luis de Jesus Mirandas, etc. We are supposedly Christians — who believe in Christ Jesus, the Holy Bible and GOD Almighty, yet we follow anti-christs.”

    You can read the rest here: http://lavrai.com/blogs/2008/03/31/jesus-christ-describes-how-he-will-return-to-earth/

Leave a Reply

