I have tried to not go on about Todd Bentley as my previous post has already attracted over 100 comments and I have made my views very clear especially when it comes to people elevating experience above doctrine. However I came across this video on Battle 4 Truth and I was wondering how much more evidence Christians need to know that Todd is preaching another gospel and it is NOT the gospel of Jesus Christ. Apparently God told Todd that people already know about Jesus and now “you’ve got to get people to believe in the angel” and to believe in ‘the supernatural’.

There is NOWHERE in scripture which says that we must elevate angels or anywhere where the apostles tried to get people to ‘believe in the angel’ at the expense of knowing Jesus. It’s ALL about Jesus, pre and post conversion. Once you elevate angels above Jesus, that angel becomes an idol because Jesus does not take first place.

Let no one cheat you of your reward, taking delight in false humility and worship of angels, intruding into those things which he has not seen, vainly puffed up by his fleshly mind, 19 and not holding fast to the Head, from whom all the body, nourished and knit together by joints and ligaments, grows with the increase that is from God. (Colossians 2:18-19)

But even if we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel to you than what we have preached to you, let him be accursed (Galatians 1:8 )

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. 2 For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. (1 Cor 2:1)

TAKE HEED THAT NO ONE DECEIVES YOU

Related Posts:

Revival Shown on God TV…or is it?

What does the Bible say about Benny Hinn?

How False Prophets work

Judge Not?

Coming out of deception

How much more evidence do you need? The ministry of assault and battery

Todd Bentley commits adultery

Comments
  1. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    Bro. Alan,

    Maybe I’m being a stroppy teenager, and please reprove if I am, but somehow I am beginning to despise this moron the more and more I look into what he is saying…

  2. Alastair says:

    You say “Apparently God told Todd that people already know about Jesus and now “you’ve got to get people to believe in the angel” and to believe in ‘the supernatural’.

    There is NOWHERE in scripture which says that we must elevate angels or anywhere where the apostles tried to get people to ‘believe in the angel’ at the expense of knowing Jesus.”

    Look carefully at the two statements and tell me where you went wrong, don’t bother your self I will tell you. . . . .

    Tod Bentley said ” . . . People already know about Jesus . . .” but you counter ” . . at the expense of knowing Jesus . . ”

    Not the same thing my friend, not the same thing, I like your commentary but it needs to be accurate to be believable.

    Cheers

    Alastair.

  3. Alan Higgins says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog Alistair

    It is not a contradiction at all. We can NEVER know Jesus enough that we can say ‘oh well, we know enough about Jesus, let’s go on to something else’. That is totally against scripture and heretical and a dangerous teaching.So yes, it IS at the expense of knowing Jesus

  4. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    “Believe in the angel????” – this sounds like William M. Branham all over again…

  5. Lee says:

    “Believe in the angel????” – this sounds like William M. Branham all over again…

    Well, Since Bentley’s ‘healing angel’ is the same one as Branham’s (Bentley claims he got Branham’s angel’s mantle in Grant’s Pass in 2000), it’s no surprise.

    Scroll a bit down to “AN ANGEL CALLED HEALING REVIVAL:”

    http://www.etpv.org/2003/angho.html

  6. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    Really??? Well thank you Lee. I’m working on an article on this – should prove helpful.

  7. Lee says:

    I’ve no time right now to get to all I want to write; but, I’ve transcribed the audio in this and the first thing I’d like to point out is when Bentley says, “I’m releasing it back… …to where it all started in 1948, I’m releasin’ it back.” he’s referring to Latter Rain teachings as espoused by Branham. 1948 is the year this movement resurfaced. See here:

    http://www.discernment.org/restorat.htm

  8. Lee says:

    While this is not the one I’m looking for which verifies my claim in post #5, it gets close @ around 5:15 referencing Branham’s angel as his own:

  9. Daniel says:

    I’ve heard about this development but i had no idea it was this bad. wow.

  10. Lee says:

    I’ve transcribed the audio:

    This thing’s gonna break out… …now, now just wait up here in Shrevesport [not sure if this the city he’s referring to]… …I’m releasing it back… …to where it all started in 1948, I’m releasin’ it back. Now for some of you that are here, it doesn’t really matter to you — all that stuff. All you really care about is God’s moving and, ya know what, that’s all that really matters; so, if you’re not big on prophetic, supernatural and angels, I’m sorry. It’s my testimony. But, if you wanna know why God’s moving, I have to tell you the whole story and if you don’t believe the story…well, sorry. Ya know, I told the Lord “Why can’t I just move in healing and forget talking about all that other stuff”

    When Bentley says, “I’m releasin; it back…” is he referring to himself, an angel, or the ‘Holy Spirit?’

    So, Bentley asks the Lord why he can’t just ‘move in healing’ and ignore the ‘other stuff.’ What ‘other stuff?’ The Gospel? Jesus?

    He said, “Because Todd you gotta get the people to believe in the angel.”

    OK, so the ‘Holy Spirit’ told him this. [yeah, right.]

    I said, “God, why do I want people to believe in the angel, isn’t it about gettin’ the people to believe in Jesus?”

    I thought Bentley said he wanted just to ‘move in healing’ and forget the ‘other stuff.’

    He said, “But the people already believe in Jesus; but, the church doesn’t believe in the supernatural.”

    The church has no problem believing in Jesus; but, what we don’t believe in is the supernatural. We don’t believe in angels. We don’t believe in the prophetic. We don’t believe in some of what’s goin’ on. And, I’ll tell you what. We need to have an awakening.

    Well, I believe in angels [including ‘angels of light’] and the supernatural [both divine and demonic]; but, I don’t believe the Holy Spirit will EVER point away from Jesus. And, I do believe ‘what’s goin’ on’ in Lakeland; but, I believe it not of God.

    I said, “Well God, maybe you want to give this ministry to somebody else because nobody’s gonna receive it in the package that I come in.

    I said, “You gotta give me the most controversial testimony. You gotta visit me with all this supernatural stuff. I mean hey, maybe if I was a little more clean shaven, polished, people would believe me more.”

    Or maybe, the world is looking for something new. How many of you believe we need something new?

    Just like you point out in the post:

    Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize. Such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions. [Colossians 2:18 NIV]

    And, of course, Bentley’s tattooed ‘package’ is a relatively recent invention.

    I’m not sure if this was covered here on this site; but, on Bentley’s website he references “Joel’s Army” which is part of the heretical Latter Rain teachings espoused and first popularized by William Branham:

    http://www.freshfire.ca/index.php?Id=943&pid=994&pid=994

    Interestingly, if you scroll down to the bottom of this page you’ll see “Joel’s Army” dog tags; and, this same insignia is tattoed on his chest as if Bentley were wearing these dog tags. I suppose it’s less cumbersome than real dog tags; but, I digress.

    Best quote on this page:

    From time to time Todd will have weekly associate ministries and friends blast you in the Holy Ghost [emphasis mine]

    …as if the Holy Spirit is ours to manipulate and play around with…

    What a blasphemer!

  11. Alan Higgins says:

    Lee, you summed it up when you stated ‘I don’t believe the Holy Spirit will EVER point away from Jesus’. There are just so many things wrong with his doctrine to just simply ignore or sweep under the carpet

  12. Laura says:

    Amen!!!

  13. wickle says:

    Wow …

    Christianity isn’t all about Jesus, huh? What’s sad is that people believe this kind of thing.

    People don’t know Jesus … but a lot of people have short attention spans and figure that they already know Him.

    The more I come to know Him, the more I know that I never will know everything that there is to know. But that’s okay, because learning more is better than anything else.

    I don’t need some funky angel to liven things up … I’ve got the Son of God.

  14. Carol says:

    Alan, you said: “Once you elevate Jesus above angels, that angel becomes an idol because Jesus does not take first place.” Don’t you mean “once you elevate angels above Jesus, that angel becomes an idol…..”??

    Carol

  15. Alan Higgins says:

    Yes Carol you are right. Thanks for the correction. I will change it once I get back to a computer (writing this from BlackBerry)

  16. esther says:

    Alan get real, this Todd has won more souls through his teleevangelism than you through this destructive website

  17. Fee says:

    Esther; it’s all good winning souls….but to whom? If he himself has said Jesus told him ‘people already know about Jesus and now you’ve got to get people to believe in the angel and to believe in ‘the supernatural’. If Jesus says He is THE WAY, THE TRUTH AND THE LIFE, why would He want His glory shared with anyone else – when He clearly says in the scriptures that He doesn’t. Jesus isn’t interested in the masses who have their souls ‘saved’ but the fruitfulness of the sowing. Many will cry Lord, Lord…
    No disrespect Esther, but discernment is so vital here. Without it, people like this tattoo-laden gentleman has the power given to fool the masses. And I fear you may be one of them. I pray your eyes will see the truth.

  18. Alan Higgins says:

    Here is a question Esther. How do you know that ‘Todd has won more souls through his teleevangelism’?

  19. PeterV says:

    Fee, you forgot probab ly the most important part of the line you used, which is most relevant to this blog. Jesus says “I am the Way the Truth and the Life, NO-ONE CAN COME TO THE FATHER , BUT BY ME.”
    No amount of belief in angels is going to get you into heaven. Angels never had to die on a cross or sacrifice themselves for all of humanity in a selfless act.

  20. PeterV:
    Wow! That is it in a nutshell! So profound! So true!
    God has supplied us already with what we need:
    (1) The death of His only betten son, Jesus, who died for
    us while we were yet sinners.
    (2) He gave us His inspired word, the Bible, as a guide and
    instruction.
    Having done that, He put His stamp on it in saying that we
    are not to add or take away from the things in this book.
    The penalty being our name will be taken from the Book of
    Life. God says what He means and means what He says.
    The whole world and universe belongs to Him to do with as He will. Some day there will be a day of reckoning. God
    inhabits the praises of His people. So He is to be praised, loved and feared. God will certainly hold accountable those who are to feed the flock and instead lead them astray by
    their own devices. There will be accountability! Praise God!

  21. alease davis says:

    Run from this sick garbage!There is demonic oppression associated with it .Many people have suffered after watching it.My own family suffered degrading thoughts,depression and thoughts of suicide after watching Bentley for 2 weeks.This is nothing to mess around with,there are spirits at work here.Beware.

  22. chad says:

    you can not take away from Jesus he is the only way, when you put an angel higher than Jesus its not according to the bible. I am a follower of William Branham Message and he never worshipped an angel, he always took us back to the bible, the bible is the most important. He had supernatural like never before seen but he always said it was the Lord Jesus Christ and not him, the angel that he was talking about was the same angel thats in the bible and everything he done was according to the word…. even nif the main stream cant eat it. God has already sent his messanger for this age it is up to us to except it…. William Marion Branham.

  23. Bdunn says:

    I watched Todd Bentley last year. I felt a stirring in my spirit that something wasn’t quite right. When he started saying “God won’t start healing until I kick this lady in the FACE,” well, I KNEW right then. The Bible says Satan comes to Steal, Kill & Destroy. God is love. God is peace. God is righteousness. God doesn’t kick people in the face. Jesus (Bible never states) never kicked someone in the face to heal them. If he did, please show me the scripture.

    God will do and prove His word, no matter WHOM it is that “preaches.”

    Gods love and grace and mercy is evident in this “revival” but the man is way off in left field. He needs to get back to the Bible and to Jesus. It seems to me that he opened himself up to SPIRITS instead of the Holy Spirit. There is a difference.

    Instead of continuing judgement on this man, pray for his soul. He is held accountable for EVERY SINGLE PERSON he has spoken to and harmed. May God have mercy.

Leave a Reply

