I saw the testimony below from a person called Dawn on Bro Phil’s blog Theology Today and as I read it, I saw myself a few years ago and I could resonate with everything she said

I am coming away from revival with something I didn’t expect. Like many honest, God-fearing believers who love Him, I came expecting to find and come away with “more” of Him. What I have come away with is the realization that perhaps much of what I have built my Christian walk on is deception. This kind of deception cannot solely be laid at the feet of the Todd Bentleys, or even the Bob Jones of the world. It is much too insidious to be attributed to mere mortals. I see myself in each one of these individuals. They are me! I believe these are all men and women who love God and have honestly desired to follow after Him. But somehow, somewhere along the way, we began to listen to another gospel and follow another Jesus. I don’t believe for a moment that my journey out of deception is complete, but praise God, it’s a start.

I have spent a better part of the last 30 years in Charismatic/Pentecostal churches looking for “more” – more power, more anointing, more glory, more revelation, prosperity, divine health, and everything else I believed was mine in Christ. Those of us from the “more Lord” camp have come to the foot of the cross looking to get all that we can from Christ in order to live a life that is “more than abundant.” We have earnestly believed that with this abundant life, we would be able to expand the Kingdom of God and reach the world for Christ with our “kingdom power and kingdom wealth”. Therein lies the delusion! Is not this the same theology Satan tempted Jesus with in the wilderness?

Luke 4: 5-6 “And the devil, taking him up into an high mountain shewed unto him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time. And the devil said unto him, ‘All this power will I give thee, and the glory of them: for that is delivered unto me; and to whomsoever I will give it. If thou wilt worship me, all thine shall be thine.”)

Sounds eerily familiar, doesn’t it?

I have said, as well as the many others who are attending revival, we are hungry for God. But is that really what we are hungry for? Are we hungry for a life that is holy, that denies the desires of our flesh, to glory in our weakness rather than in our visions and revelations of Christ (as Paul says in II Corinthians 12:1-5)? Or is it something else we’ve been hungry for? I can tell you, after 30 years of all the preaching, teaching, conferences, healing schools, prophetic schools, etc., we have been after more than just God. We’ve been after His power. We are after His glory….which He will not share. (”I am the Lord: that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another….Isaiah 42:8.) It our seeking of the power and glory of God that leads to deception; it is to pursue another Jesus and preach another gospel!

We say that we are hungry for God, but if we are honest with ourselves, we are really looking to benefit from His power. The power of God has been something to be pursued with all of our heart, time and resources. Let’s be honest; spiritual power is tantalizing. “God’s power” represents, whether we realize it or not, a quick fix to put in order those areas of our life that we will not through repentance, self-control, and the taking up our own cross to follow Him. Oh, if we only desired to have Christ’s character operating in our lives as much we desire the operation of spiritual gifts and annointings!

To truly be a follower of Christ we must not only come to the foot of the cross, but we must be willing to get on the cross. How many of us would really follow Christ if there were no healings to be had, no outpourings to revel in? Would we rush to get to Florida to embracing lack, to know hunger, to suffer need, to be stoned, or beaten? How many of our present day “apostles” truly bear the marks of the gospel upon their bodies as did the Apostle Paul? (And I don’t mean tattoos either!)

Let’s face it, we’ve been running to Lakeland in hopes of getting something more…. something more for ourselves, something more for our churches, and something more for the world. We have been preoccupied with the thinking that God has somehow withheld something we must still pursue. It was exactly this kind of thinking that lead Eve into taking that first bite.

Thanks to Phil, and thanks you to all those of you out there who have put so much effort into many of your blogs and websites on the subject of the danger associated with this revival in Lakeland. Continue to speak the truth. Continue to walk in love towards those you know to be deceived. Without the love, the message cannot be heard.

I covet your prayers. Please remember also to pray for those coming out of this deception. Safe places of worship and fellowship will be key if we would ever truly follow after Christ.

Related Posts:

Coming Out of deception Part 2 – A Mum’s Testimony

Judge Not?

Its not all about Jesus’ according to Todd Bentley

Revival Shown on God TV…or is it?

What does the Bible say about Benny Hinn?

How False Prophets work

Todd Bentley commits adultery

Comments
  1. Isaiah says:

    Thank you for sharing this, Alan. This made me jump up with joy!

    Soli deo Gloria!

  2. Lee says:

    Thanks for sharing this. It gets disappointing at times doing this blogging thing and getting the same ol’ deceived responses:

    Don’t judge
    Touch not mine anointed
    etc.

    I’ve not seen Dawn’s comment before; but, this is the 2nd person this evening who said they are moving away from deception. This gives me encouragement to keep contending for the faith and trying to snatch others from the fire.

    The ones most susceptible to deception are the ones who are really sincere about following God as they are willing to abandon all for Him. I’m so thankful that the LORD kept me from going the route of deception.

  3. Laura says:

    I am showing this to my Mum, I wouldn’t say she’s coming ‘out of deception’ but that God has cautioned us both at the doorway with little ‘red flags’!

    I am in a Pentecostal church right now but I am comfortable there, I think, reading what some of you have said, that our church is more at the conservative end of this denomination. We do preach tithing but I don’t think I’ve ever heard prosperity preaching there.

    Eyes pealed and ears open!

  4. Hi Alan,

    Thanks for posting this! When Dawn e-mailed me with this I couldn’t believe it……I had tears flowing and was filled with the Spirit!

    This testimony should be the norm for a revival….but sadly it isn’t. So many are caught up in this mess and we must all pray for those who are still deceived.

    Phil

  5. john Leslie says:

    Paul only wanted to know Christ and Him crucified. To glory in Him alone. Amen Amen

  6. JoAnne says:

    Thankyou !!I am deeply troubled at the growing deception ,
    personally it has been very overwhelming lately.. Thank God for His comfort and truth ,, He truely will lead us to the truth , if we want it … God Bless………

  7. christie says:

    When I read this letter I was totally in agreement with it because I too am just now coming out of this deception.

    I went to the Revival down in Lakeland and the only thing that felt spiritual was the Worship. But when Todd got up there I did not feel the prescense of God. That should have been my red flag right there.

    I am so thankful that people are rising up and speaking the truth. That is all I want is the Truth. This has been making me re-think so many things that I have grown to embrace.

  8. Geminate says:

    Any. Any, Christian who prays for discernment cannot be taken away by the false Christian movements and the false Christian church. All is obvious to those that come to God and work with God to know the truth. God’s truth is really black and white, there are no shades of gray, ever.

  9. Gordon Brownlee says:

    Hi,

    I’ve just finished writing a book that deals with the Charismatic problem. It’s called, “The Shadow of the Spiritual” and I want to make it available to you as a resource.
    Can I send the file your way?

    In Jesus, Gordon Brownlee

  10. What a great blog post. This is so revealing, and well stated. I myself came out if the charismatic “more of God” movement about 6 months ago. One thing that really did it for me was when I was briefly in a pentecostal church. The convulsions on the floor did not seem right to me, and were certainly not scriptural (unless one has a DEMON) . I began studying wild manifestations on YouTube. One thing led to another, and boom, I suddenly became nearly Baptist! I am now firmly grounded in the Word. I was so thankful to read this post from Dawn. When truth is openly shared, it is exciting. When people come out of false systems and false movements, it is another reason to give praise to God. Thank You Lord for TRUTH.

Leave a Reply

