But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear (1 Peter 3:15)

This scripture became very real to me the week before last. A work colleague came up to me and said he wanted to speak to me about Christianity as he was interested in it (how often does that happen?) Because I was at work at the time and our lunch times never seemed to be at the same time, I was not able to speak to him. Last week I was not at work so I still had not spoken to him and I knew this week at work, I would be very busy. So I thought, this guy has APPROACHED ME and I have not spoken to him yet and I would hate to know that he died and I never spoke to him about Christ when he was the one who enquired. So yesterday, I found his mobile number and I called him. He said he has watched me at work and knew that I was ‘religious’ (his words, not mine). He has been pondering spirituality for some time now.After asking him about what he thinks happens after death and what he understands about Christianity, I then went on to give him the gospel from beginning to end. I then asked him if it was OK if I prayed for him afterwards (not the ‘sinners prayer’) after which he was very appreciative and even became emotional.

I will continue to water the seed at work and let the Holy Spirit do the work until, hopefully, he will come to a place of true repentance and faith

Please remember him in your prayers

Comments
  1. Isaiah says:

    Great to hear that, Alan! I’ll pray for him too. Might be inconvenient to ask his name here, but the Lord certainly knows who it is if I just mention that it’s you speaking to him. 🙂

    God bless!

  2. lavrai says:

    Amen, Alan. I pray that I allow the Holy Spirit to do HIS work when I am asked to explain the cause of my faith…because I know if I do it, it just wouldn’t work out. But I am glad this gentleman was moved to approach you. I pray to GOD ALMIGHTY that he is sincere and truly seeking the LORD. Continue to lead by example and, as you said, allow the Holy Spirit to guide things. This co-worker will approach you again when he is ready or the Holy Spirit will give you a verse for him.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

