Well this is just one of the ways. Earlier on last week, I was on the phone to a friend and she was going on and on about how a book had really blessed her. This book was from Creflo Dollar. Not sure which book it was but my guess is it was ‘8 Steps to create the life you want’.

But how did I know she was a victim of false teaching? It may have been subtle but there was a big giveaway. When we were talking, all the conversation was about HER. It was about how SHE has been motivated to change HER life and for HER to better HER career and how SHE was encouraged to be focussed on where SHE wants HER life to go. As she went on and on, I saw how her ambitions were centered on HER and what SHE could get and not about Christ. I have mentioned it before that a big giveaway on knowing false teaching is to ask the question, ‘Who is the center and clear focus of the message? Is it me or is it Christ?’

TAKE HEED THAT NO-ONE DECEIVES YOU

Related Post:
The marks of false ‘christian’ teaching and teachers Part 4 – Man Centered Theology

Comments
  1. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    I hate that book – and that is no joke! I bought a friend of mine a copy of R.C. Sproul’s Essential truths of the Christian Faith as a birthday present. A few days later, she turns up at my house, book in hand, saying she wanted to give it back.

    At first I thought she misunderstood, so I reiterated that the book was hers to keep. She said that the book was “deeply boring and unmotivational”. She then had the gall to ask me to buy Creflo’s book! I took the book back, and gave it to my mum – who actually likes the book.

    Needless to say, those who will turn up what I call “thinking books” for the drivel being sold by such guys as Dr. Dollar has really had some work done on them. I’ll be sure to keep your friend in prayer, Bro. Alan

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    There is the problems right there. SHE wanted to be motivated

Leave a Reply

