Predestination is a subject that I have not fully got my head around. When I read the bible plainly there are many scriptures which support election such as Ephesians 1:3-14, and John 15:16 to say a few. If I am totally honest, it doesnt seem fair. In fact when I read passages of scripture such as 2 Peter 3:9, I couldnt reconcile the two

The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that ANY should perish but that ALL should come to repentance.

That was until I watched this video

He’s Not Willing That ANY Should Perish. ANY of WHOM?

However, the more studying I have done (and still doing), my views are beginning to change and I am beginning to become more convinced. Then there are those who will point to John 3:16

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that WHOEVER believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life

Well the videos below explain that too

Does John 3:16 Refute Unconditional Election? (1 of 3)

Does John 3:16 Refute Unconditional Election? (2 of 3)

Does John 3:16 Refute Unconditional Election? (3 of 3)

I obviously still have a lot to learn

Related Post

Prayer and Predestination

Comments
  1. travis says:

    you should check out letgodbetrue.com it is another terrific resource on predestintion and holy living.

    the lord bless you,

    travis

  2. Laura says:

    http://www.orlutheran.com/html/mlpredestination.html

    The above link helped me greatly with this subject. I think predestination is a tricky subject to discuss as it can leave many Christians with doubts and non Christians with the arguement ‘why then if we are elected should we bother believing in Christ?’

    I believe that if God fully chose who would live and who would be damned He would not have sent His Son to die for us, as those to be saved would still be saved and those who were to be damned would still be damned.

    I think i believe that the Lord KNOWs who shall be saved but I couldn’t make myself believe that my loving God would ever predestine anyone to hell unconditionally… hmm I still don’t fully understand but I’m going to go with Martin Luther on this one and agree that it is dangerous to start thinking about God’s motives and such – as this is what led to the ‘original sin’

    As long as we believe and trust in the Lord Jesus Christ who died for us so that we may be forgiven, we should be sure that we are truely saved.

  3. Kyle says:

    I had the same issue regarding Election and Predestination until recently. Once you grasp your feeble mind around it everything makes sense. I mean EVERYTHING regarding spiritual matters. The epiphany I had helped me write this about Arminianism. You can see it here at:

    http://www.pulpit-pimps.org/archives/2008/08/20/arminian-crap-shoot

    Kyle

  4. amanda says:

    Kyle the link doesn’t work…

Leave a Reply

