Recently I have been examining the amount of time I have been spending online and the amount of quality time that I have been spending with God and if I am honest, I have neglected the latter. I think the scripture below describes a lot about me

To the angel of the church of Ephesus write,
‘These things says He who holds the seven stars in His right hand, who walks in the midst of the seven golden lampstands: 2 “I know your works, your labor, your patience, and that you cannot bear those who are evil. And you have tested those who say they are apostles and are not, and have found them liars; 3 and you have persevered and have patience, and have labored for My name’s sake and have not become weary. 4 Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love. 5 Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent and do the first works, or else I will come to you quickly and remove your lampstand from its place—unless you repent. (Revelations 2:1-5)

I love the word of God and I spend time in the word and love doctrine and discernment but I have not really been devoted to prayer and even sometimes prioritised being online over prayer and so feel as if I have lost my first love.

Then Brother Isaiah posted a post called ‘For Those Who Spend An Unhealthy Amount of Time online‘ which was basically confirmed what I already knew in my heart. After listening to the Slicecast on his site (which you can download/listen to here) , I knew God was telling to restrict my time online to spend more time with him and so I will not be blogging or looking at any comments for about a week or so to replenish myself spiritually by the still waters (hence the picture), which I confess will be hard for me as I love blogging, but I love God more. So I will see you on the other side

Comments
  1. Isaiah says:

    Have a good rest, Alan. It’s a podcast that spoke volumes to me too. 🙂

  2. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    Hmmm…seems everyone will be limiting their time online after hearing that edition of the Slicecast. From next week Monday, the amount of time I spend blogging will go down – which may upset some folks, but there is more to life than a keyboard and a screen.

  3. wow..this really hurts in a good way.. The Lord has been telling the same thing recently in so many ways but this posting REALLY says it quite clearly. I will need to start moderating also.

    When you get back would you prayerfully consider link exchanging with me. I actually have 2 sites. http://www.consecratedto.com & http://www.weused2bu.com . I really think that your site would help edify my readers also.

    May our Lord replenish you during this time and give you revelation as you seek His face. In Jesus name..Amen

  4. naturalsystah says:

    Self examination is never a bad thing… I think I better listen to that slicecast.

  5. Laura says:

    I praise God that He led me to this blog, and I thank God that He is using you Alan, and that you Alan are an obedient servant.

    I myself have ‘self examined’ several times and been challenged over certain things since I began coming here regularly. Infact I think God’s opened a whole new chapter of my journey infront of my eyes. I am also gradually getting my head around the idea of unconditional election, which to begin with I was opposed to.

  6. Justin says:

    I just found your site and now you’re taking a break. 😦 I understand your reasons though. I’m adding your site to my blogroll.

  7. alabasterboxes says:

    Interesting, that is the same reason I am having to take a break. May the Lord bless you during this time.

  8. Rachel says:

    It is so easy to let the world pull us away. Each morning the first thing I do is spend time with God – in His Word, in prayer. I have a notebook to write praises, prayers, insights. It is an amazing time and doing it first thing ensures I will do the most important thing I could do spend time with my first love. I cherish that time. I pray this time becomes a habit – that you won’t be able to live without – it is the food to our spirits. I will be praying for you.

    Rachel

  9. […] 8, 2008 by Alan Higgins Yes, after taking my break from blogging, I have returned. I am definitely more focused and hopefully I will be consistent in my prayer life […]

  10. […] just life . As a result, I have decided to take a take some time out from blogging like I did a few years ago and trying to prioritise spending quality time with God which if I am honest, have failed […]

Leave a Reply

