First of all, I have always wondered why some Christians get so happy when a famous person calls themself a Christian but their life and what they say do not line up with scripture. I have previously touched on people who love the gospel style but not the gospel message, I have spoken about the gospel according to Oprah. Now we have Sir Cliff Richard, who is supposed to be a christian, calling on the church to bless gay marriages. For those who dont know him outside the UK, he is a music artist who is supposed to be the model ‘christian’. In Cliff’s words

I think the Church must come round and see people as they are now……Gone are the days when we assumed loving relationships would be solely between men and women….In the end, I believe, people are going to be judged for what they are. It seems to me that commitment is the issue, and if anyone comes to me and says: ’This is my partner – we are committed to each other,’ then I don’t care what their sexuality is. I’m not going to judge – I’ll leave that to God….I’m sad because we have to learn to deal with everything. Everything has changed. The church has got to come to terms with the fact that things have changed since even Jesus has died. It’s only a mere 2,000 years…I mean slavery was an in-thing at one time. We were told to deal with it. And we’ve dealt with it. And we’ve got to deal with every aspect of life. There are gay people in this world,some of them are very talented. Some of them could be great priests.

Then we have Katy Perry going from singing Christian lyrics like this to singing these lyrics on I Kissed a Girl. This is why I believe that after a while, even if someone outwardly professes Christ, time will tell if that person is truly saved or if they are a false convert.

The fact of the matter is there are many false converts sitting right in the pew of our churches every week who go through the motions, have no desire to spend time with God, who neglect the reading of God’s word, are very religious but are not regenerate. They havent been born again. This is becoming very evident to me lately especially when I tried to correct a person in church. Lets pray for those who are self deceived.

Anyway, I think this church put up a good sign to counter-attack Katy Perrys song

For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. 27 Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due.
28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a debased mind, to do those things which are not fitting; 29 being filled with all unrighteousness, sexual immorality, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, evil-mindedness; they are whisperers, 30 backbiters, haters of God, violent, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, 31 undiscerning, untrustworthy, unloving, unforgiving, unmerciful; 32 who, knowing the righteous judgment of God, that those who practice such things are deserving of death, not only do the same but also approve of those who practice them. (Romans 1:26-32)

Comments
  1. jfranklin6 says:

    The sign … I liked it. And yes, the truth is all Christians must rebuke one another, you may gain a brother, you also may gain an enemy, but you will glorify God. Count it all blessing. Great post, sorry about your friend.

  2. Laura says:

    Yeah, and a week later the sign was vandalised with graffiti which read:

    G od
    A dores
    Y ou!

    I can’t stand how people make God out to be some wet lettuce who wouldn’t say boo to a goose and wants to cuddle everyone. When are people going to realise that we are not all ‘special’ – we are sin ridden, self loving vile creatures who are destined to die and burn in an everlasting furnace. Thankfully God has chosen to save some of us from our terrible fate by sending His Son Jesus Christ as a sacrifice in payment for our sins. That those who may hear His name and believe, they shall be forgiven.

    Only God knows our hearts but I think it’s pretty safe to say if you’re continually living in sin, without conviction and refuting the Words of the bible whilst claiming to be a Christian and leading goodness knows how many other down the same path of destruction – God does not adore you!!!

  3. naturalsystah says:

    Amen, Alan.

    I’ve met many professed Christians (albeit mostly online) that have said similar things to Cliff Richard.

  4. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    I know you are saved when you reject every trapping of your old life and serve Christ wholehearted.

    Cliff Richard – ain’t done it.
    Katy Perry – no comment.

    Jesus makes it clear those who are His:

    Luk 6:46 “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?

  5. Laura says:

    This isn’t really related guys but I thought I’d let you know that the CofE have made an official apology to CHARLES DARWIN!!! Yes, it’s true – they’re saying that evolution might well have happened. I’m just thankful I know what I believe and I’m going to stick to it.

  6. anothermouse says:

    So true, Alan. So true.

    God Bless.

  7. Julian says:

    Ironically he said that he was “not going to judge and leave that to God,” yet uses a committed relationship as the standard. You can’t make a standard, then abdicate your responsibility as judge. It’s inconsistent. We let people slide with very sloppy logic due to emotion.

    You are either a Christian or you subscribe to the religion of the times. In Romans, this is specifically mentioned in this paradigm (men with men/ women with women in the last days).

    I think with almost any philosophy you have people claiming it as a cultural identifier more than following to the letter (or in Christs case, the Spirit). I’m not sure why people have such a hard time admitting it when they are making up their own rules.

    What we see, at times, is the acceptance of Jesus as a Savior but never as Lord. You have to believe that in your heart to achieve salvation, and although I’m not the judge, I think the number of saved are far less than the number that identify as “Christian” in a profile box. GREAT ARTICLE.

Leave a Reply

