I have mentioned before that I (that is my flesh) have a problem with the doctrine of election but scriptually I cannnot honestly deny it. I’m glad that I am not alone with my struggle. Even John Macarthur has this problem but talks about it in depth below. I encourage you to listen to all of the audios below as he does an excellent job in explaining it (as much as he can)

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

If you take the Armenian position that we choose God, then you are to preach the gospel to as many people as possible so that they can hear the gospel in order to choose God

If you take the Calvinist position that God chooses us, then God has made the choice but we dont know who he has chosen so we should preach the gospel  to as many people as possible, for it is through preaching of the gospel that people are saved

So my conclusion is:

PREACH THE GOSPEL

Related Post:

Predestination

Prayer and Predestination

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    Election is a tough one and I believe it is God that saves us. I think part of our problem with accepting this truth is that we think we understand His entire plan for this life now and when we die. I think the majority of us have over simplified it when it is much bigger. When I seek in the Word His truth and not try to fit it to what I have heard . . . I am realizing there is much more to it.

    Rachel

  2. Stephen Olan says:

    “If you take the Armenian position that we choose God, then you are to preach the gospel to as many people as possible so that they can hear the gospel in order to choose God

    If you take the Calvinist position that God chooses us, then God has made the choice but we dont know who he has chosen so we should preach the gospel to as many people as possible, for it is through preaching of the gospel that people are saved

    So my conclusion is:

    PREACH THE GOSPEL”

    See you said something there that I think many of us on both sides forget……THE GOSPEL IS FAR MORE IMPORTANT THAN OUR DEBATES. Which is why I try to stay well away from personal digs. I love truth, I love doctrine, however I understand the great need for the preaching of the Gospel.

    Thanks for pointing this out bro. It serves as a timely reminder

Leave a Reply

