Following my last two posts here and here, no doubtedly, many of you will have been offended by what I wrote. Trip Lee wrote a blog which totally echoes why I write some of the ‘offensive’ articles that I write. I do not write them just to ruffle feathers but because I believe that some of the practices that church accepts as the norm are totally unbiblical. Please read Trip’s blog below

Brothers and sisters, If you are like many of the people I know, you will offend people. You will offend them deeply. The offense will cause them internal distress and maybe pain that they will resent you for. But sometimes God won’t be grieved by this. In fact, He’ll be pleased.

Off the top of my head I can recall many times when I have offended people. Some of the time afterwards, I confessed and repented of my sin. But then there were other times when I didn’t feel remorse, nor did I repent. In fact I praised God for His grace in the situation.

Hold up, before you throw away all your Reach Records CD’s, and write blogs with titles like “Trip Lee Lost His Mind!” or “Christian Rapper Apostacizes!” , let me clarify what I’m talking about.

Two Kinds of Offense
[These two are not the only kinds of offense known to man, but this is the distinction I’ll use in this brief discussion.]

1. Offense due to sin
If you are like me, you probably can’t even begin to count the number of times you have hurt someone because of sinful words or actions. I’ve hurt friends, family, even strangers during my life. I’ve been cold to a loved one, treated strangers with partiality instead of love, as well as countless other things. But by the Lord’s grace, He has worked compassion and remorse in my heart. And I strive every day not to sin against my brothers and sisters, or anyone I run into for that matter. The Biblical command is to love one another, “Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.- 1 John 4:11”, and to love the world as well.

2. Offense due to commanded boldness
There is another kind of offense that is not sinful. It is evidence of grace in your life. It is obedience to the command above (1 John 4:11; John 13:34). The Bible is clear about the fact that if we stand for truth, we will offend people. The crazy thing is that it doesn’t treat it like a possibility, it speaks of it as if it is a fact. And it goes as far as to say we will be hated!

In Matthew 10 the Lord Jesus says this:
“Behold, I am sending you out as sheep in the midst of wolves, so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves. Beware of men, for they will deliver you over to courts and flog you in their synagogues… you will be hated by all for my name’s sake.”

It is pretty rare in our country that we are flogged or injured for Jesus, but when we offend, we are indeed hated. Did you see why we he said that they would be hated though? For His name’s sake. We see that Peter refers to Jesus as “a stone of stumbling and a rock of OFFENSE.” The offense is the message of the Gospel, the truth of the Scriptures.

So then, this second category of offense isn’t wrong at all. It’s a result of preaching Jesus. This type of offense has nothing to do with the messenger, but has to do with the message. Some people are too abrasive, or condemning, or self righteous and they add offense to an already offensive message. This is what we must avoid. We are to lovingly present an offensive message to those who need to hear it. This includes Christians and non-Christians.

As a matter of fact, I have talked with some within the body who have been offended by me and my brothers hard stances on biblical truths. For some, we’ve hurt their feelings *[see below]*. And while I strive to speak with them lovingly and graciously, I am not apologetic. That is unless I’m shown that I’ve misunderstood what God said in His Word. I strive to proclaim truth boldly even if it offends man, because to shy back would be to offend God. That’s the other mistake we must avoid- not standing for truth in fear of offending others.

Conclusion

I say this at the risk of someone misunderstanding and thinking that the purpose is to offend people. So I will say it clearly. THE POINT IS NOT TO OFFEND PEOPLE! DO NOT SET OUT TO OFFEND PEOPLE! YOU ARE NOT SPIRITUAL BECAUSE YOU MAKE FOLKS MAD! The point is to stand for the truth of the Scriptures fam. With that said my question is this: If you aren’t offending people, what in the world are you doing with your life!!?? It sure isn’t loving your neighbor as yourself. If you do stand for biblical truth, offense is inevitable. And if you aren’t offending anybody it’s probably because you aren’t loving others as you should.

Romans 1:16, live it out fam.

In reference to offense among the church…
*Especially the prosperity Gospel piece. We all know it’s controversial (And to be fair there are different persuasions within this movement). But the prosperity Gospel is simply not in the Bible. I see where it comes from, but it seems to be due to a misunderstanding. To suggest that we can presently experience everything that Jesus purchased on the cross is simply not true. This is part of why we await His return for His bride. Jesus will indeed restore us to perfect health, prosperity, and remove all sufferings for HIs people (Rev 21), but we await that while we await His return and final redemption. In fact, it looks like the Bible promises a very rough life for Christians. This is just one example of something that offends, but we stand against it because we believe it to be unbiblical

Comments
  1. Brother,

    Great treatment on a subject that is very important. I am often told during debates that as a minister I should seek to not offend people. It’s important that we speak the truth with love, but it must be the truth nevertheless.

  2. trlkly says:

    Romans 12 pretty much makes this non-scriptural. If you have the ability not to offend, you are supposed to. “If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.”

    Did Jesus offend people? Sure. But he didn’t do anything offensive. People were offended not because of what he did, but what he represented.

    I admire you for going out and arguing with prosperity gospel. But if you are doing so in a way that acts judgmental (As we cannot judge someone else’s servant) then you are sinning. )

    It’s really not complicated. We’re called to spread the gospel, which includes uncovering untruths. But we are called to be as unoffensive as possible.

    To assume that, the reason people are offended by you is because of your message is a cop-out. But even if it wasn’t your fault, it’s still nothing to be proud of. As said offense may be what keeps them from accepting the gospel.

  3. Alan Higgins says:

    Let me state first that people were offended by what Jesus did AND what he represented. When he performed healings, were not the Pharisees offended? Do I go out purposely to offend? Of course not but offending people comes part and package of telling the truth. By you saying that I judge, have you not made a judgment yourself? Jesus states that we SHOULD judge righteously.You quoted Romans 12 which says IF it is possible which means that it is not always possible. It is the truth (in love) that will set us free

    • Brandon says:

      Alan, I love your site and what you have to say…

      I’ve just very recently started a website called abolishingchristianity.com and I’m very encouraged to see that you have a similar mind to change what society’s view of christianity is…Keep it up,
      In Christ’s love,
      Brandon

  4. CRAIG says:

    I appreciate this website, The truth needs to be told .

Leave a Reply

