As a father, one thing that I aim to do is not only change my childrens behaviour but also to change their hearts so that they understand WHY they should or should not do certain things.

stoneheart_smIf I am honest, there are many believers who change their behaviour because it is the ‘christian thing to do’ but their hearts have not been changed. This is one of the things that is evident in the life of the false convert. If we aim to just change believers behaviours, then no doubt, when they are not in the public eye, they will do and say those things that they ought not to and as scripture says ‘they will be known by their fruit’.

I have already spoken previously about a person in my church who fits this category perfectly and the fruit is shown in his facebook status updates continuously even up to now. God says that he will give us a new heart. It also says that out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks so if you want to have a good indication if a person has a changed heart, listen to what they say. Let us continually examine ourselves to make sure that not only is our behaviour changed but our hearts also. The only way to do this is to get more and more into God’s word and as you do so and get a better understanding, your love for Christ will grow and you will want to obey Christ. I dont go partying to lust after girls anymore. Not that I cant but because I have no desire for those things anymore because the things that I once craved have no grip on me anymore. I pray you (and myself) will continually examine ourselves

For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. (1 John 5:3)

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    Wonderful post! Yes, what God cares about is our hearts – it is the difference between having a relgion verses a relationship – the relationship with God brings a new heart. And as you said, abiding in His pure truth is the key to an authentic relationship.

    Rachel
    http://www.stirringthedeep.com

  2. Sabrina says:

    Well put! I recently dove into reading about the ‘Nominal Christian’ and this is quite similar!

    I feel so frustrated and saddened sometimes at the lukewarm and name only Christians out there! Reaching out to someone who thinks they are already a Christian is often more challenging…they are ‘comfortable’ where they are and dont want to be ‘judged’, even though often that isn’t what is happening at all…

    May they read your blog, and His Word, and be continuously enlightened.

    May God continue to bless you!

  3. Alan Higgins says:

    Its so funny you said that. People who have been bought up in church and know all the lingo are the hardest people to correct. I have a blog in my draft but I will now try and publish it this week after your comment. Thanks for visiting

  4. Elise says:

    Hi Alan.

    I’ve been exploring your blog and am very challenged by it. It does sound true, biblically documented and though I wasn’t brought up in the Church, I fear I might have been “Christenized” rather than converted…

    Lately, I mean for the last 3 years, I’ve had doubts and dreads and real panic attacks about my eternal destination, although I’d been attending Church for ten years.

    I’m trying to ‘reconvert’ but I don’t seem to be at peace and connected to God anymore…

    Can we email ? There doesn’t seem to be a “contact us” button.
    Don’t really want to be publically debating my life.

Leave a Reply

