As a parent, I recognise how easy it is to take it for granted that I am able to have children , as I know that there are many people that cannot but I also know about the awesome reponsibility that I have to raise my children to know God and ultimately be saved. In an era where there is so much peer pressure and distractions for our young people, I have to readily admit that this is a challenge. For  me, it is especially difficult as my 11 and soon to be 16 year old do not live with me and their mum is not a christian so I have to try and influence from afar and when they visit.  I love this quote from Tedd Tripp

You must equip your children to function in a culture that has abandoned the knowledge of God. If you teach them to use their abilities, aptitudes, talents, and intelligence to make their lives better, without reference to God, you turn them away from God. If your objectives are anything other than “Man’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever,” you teach your children to function in the culture on its terms.

The Brady story below is a very touching one which explains how God in his sovereignty and providence used a devastating circumstance to bring about the salvation of a young boy and how the parents had ‘done their job’ in ultimately directing their son to the Savior.

May this encourage us as parents to prioritise what we input into our kids spiritually. I for one have been guilty of not doing this and intend to make it a priority for I do not want them to live to 70 and die without Christ.

Related Post:

Leaving a Legacy: An Interview with Voddie and Bridget Baucham

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    Hi Alan – I have step-kids – and we don’t get to see them much because we live on opposite coasts – but I see the peer pressure, the draw of the world, and the lies of the world pulling on them. What an awesome responsiblity to direct these young souls. I will be praying for you and your children this week.

    Rachel

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    Thanks Rachel. I live with my step daughter and my two kids live with their mum and its hard when you see the world pulling on them but my aim is to invest the word of God in them. I will be praying for you also

Leave a Reply

