My friend recently saw this tweet on twitter

Why do people insist on preaching and ranting on facebook & twitter all day? Go out and live it! 

Now even though I can understand what they are trying to say, to me it’s the equivalent of saying

“Why do people insist on preaching from the pulpit? Go out and live it.”

“Why do people insist on evangelising? Go out and live it.”

“Why do people insist on giving out tracts? Go out and live it.” 

facebook-twitter

Ok I don’t have Twitter account (Correction: I do now but at the time of this writing I didnt) but I do have a crackboo….. I mean Facebook account. I must confess that I am a facebook junkie and need my fix every few hours. LOL.

But on a serious note, there were times in the past that I prayed to God to give me a chance to witness to my unbelieving friends and family near and far but because of various reasons (e.g. time, distance, not appropriate at work etc), I have not been able to present them with the gospel or any other biblical truths. Then without thinking about it, I would put challenging statuses to my facebook, (which would sometimes link to www.needgod.com or www.readthisbeforeyoudie.com). These were two fold. First, to warn unbelievers of the wrath to come and to inform them how they can be saved and second, to encourage, strengthen and challenge believers. Then quite a while afterwards, it dawned on me that God had in fact answered my prayers and I was able to reach out, especially to unbelievers, in a way that I couldn’t before.

At the same time, the danger is that we spend so much time on Facebook, Twitter and other social networking sites that we don’t spend any quality time WITH God (I know that this is something that I still need to work on).

Now I am not saying that every status must feature a scripture verse or be spiritual. I like to have a laugh as well amongst other things but let there be a balance. Don’t just do quizzes, play games, talk about football and then hardly do anything else. The bible says that we should redeem (make the most of) the time because the days are evil. Do not waste the opportunity to point someoe to Christ or to stengthen your fellow brothers and sisters. You may never get the chance again. Use these tools for the glory of God

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (Colossians 3:17)

Comments
  1. Marie says:

    Alan,

    I’m right there with you. Now, as a mom with 4 kids, I know I need to be careful about budgeting my time. I also know that God gave me the gift of writing. I’ve finished a book manuscript, and have 2 blogs – one theology and apologetics; the other, “Redeemed from the Pit” – a site with my testimony and articles to help Christian women struggling with eating disorders. (I get a huge amount of feedback, and have counseled a lot of women via e-mail).

    What does this have to do with Facebook? I linked to both blogs on my profile, and……nearly half of my “Facebook friends” are high school classmates who I’ve barely seen in 20 years (mostly from the liberal, non-Christian upper crust of New England). One of them, to my knowledge an unbeliever, messaged me that she had “peeked” at my bulimia blog (that was the day I posted my testimony, which naturally emphasized how Christ had freed me). She made a general comment about how sorry she was that I had gone through that, but something about my strength in being able to write about it. I’ve also posted articles I had published on renewing one’s mind with the washing of the Word, complementarinaism, and stuff.

    I know some of them are reading. It’s a very non-confrontational way to witness and give God the glory.

    Here’s an even better thing….I posted link to my blog and testimony on some ED support forums on Facebook, including a Serbian “pro” site (the admins seem to think bulimia is a swell, fun lifestyle). I told them that it leads to death – both physical and spiritual – but that there is freedom available in Christ Jesus. Most of them ignored me, but one Serbian believer started reading my blog, corresponding with me, and she is now walking in freedom thanks to her commitment to Christ and new hope.

    Sorry for the long comment – I just wanted to share how it IS possible with a little creativity to use Facebook and the internet to share Christ with people. 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    I totally agree with this. Brill post and a message that I think needs sharing to other Christian Facebookers!

    (am I allowed to pass this on?) 🙂

  3. Alan Higgins says:

    Thanks Marie. I find (as I’m sure you do also) the internet ministry very rewarding especially when you know that you have helped someone. Keep doing what you’re doing. What are your blogs anyway?

    Laura, of course you can pass it on

  4. Marie says:

    The original, general theology (“Musings of a Theo-Geek”) is here: http://theo-geek.blogspot.com/

    and “Redeemed from the Pit” (biblical repentance and restoration from eating disorders – a platform of sorts for my book and online counseling) is here: http://redeemedfromthepit.blogspot.com/

    There is, of course, that fine line we all have to find between witnessing and edifying someone online……and just time-wasting. I do find I’m sometimes guilty of the latter!

  5. junesboudoir says:

    I just want to share something that still sticks to me, even if it is a small matter. I was on facebook, and a sister shared on her status how she wanted to know her identity in Christ. When I saw that, I asked God, Lord, what is her identity in Christ. God gave me the answer, and I responded to her via FB mail. Later she posted it as her status, and is praising God for his answer.

    Now isn’t that awesome?

  6. Alan Higgins says:

    Excellent

Leave a Reply

