Following my post yesterday and over the past few years, I have become more and more aware of the persecuted church. The more I am exposed to it, the more I have a gratitude for the freedom that I have and the more indignation I have for the prosperity gospel which could never be effectively preached to the believers in places like Iran and Saudi Arbia. I hear foolishness like the video below where “Prophetess” Christina Glenn (Bishop Weekes new wife) says that it is how loud you scream that determines your miracle (I kid you not).

And it angers me (righteously) how so many people swallow this garbage and also how it is like an insult to our persecuted brothers and sisters whose screams are sometimes screams of torture and do not get them a bigger miracle.

We in the western world really take things for granted. We go to church every Sunday without the fear of our churches being burnt down or raided, we open up our bibles freely on the way to work without the fear of being imprisoned, tortured or even killed for our faith.  Imagine going to church and right in the middle of your praise and worship service, this happens.

Over the next few days, my posts will be focussed on the Persecuted Church. I hope it will put things in perpective in your own christian life and also make you aware of what other believers are going through elsewhere in the world.

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    Hello Alan,

    I just ran across your blog today and have found it very edifying. Although, my personal testimony and background is different from yours, we have both arrived at the same place, through much of the same teachers and preachers and most especially through a love and understanding of God’s Truth contained in His inspired special revelation; The Bible, or God’s Word.

    I attend a large Liberal Presbyterian Church where no-one really loves God and or His Word and Truth and or the person and work of His Son, Jesus Christ. No-one truly understands the Biblical Gospel and leads repentant lives in service to Christ. It saddens my heart and it’s frustrating, but someone has to be the light and so I remain where I’m at.

    I too am ever so grateful for living in a place (America) where I can enjoy many freedoms that my brothers and sisters in Christ can not enjoy in many other parts of the World. It saddens my heart to the point of weeping to think of so many who are persecuted for their real and true faith.

    It isn’t easy and it never has been easy for those of us who walk the straight and narrow path, to pick up our own cross and bare it. For some it is physical persecution, for others it is just the existence in a fallen world surrounded by sin.

    Look at 2 Tim 3.

    For myself, I’ve spent many years being sanctified by the Lord. Through this, slowly, I am ever so aware of just how much sin effects everyone, even myself. We are all sinners living in a fallen world. Everyone is a cracked vessel in need of the righteousness of Christ, for ours is as filthy rags. There is no one righteous, not even one, we have all fallen away.

    Truly understanding this reality, helps me forgive and minister to everyone around me. Yes I am saddened and disappointed by others in the “church”. Yes I am very concerned in the direction that most churches are going in our times. But I’m not surprised and I continue to do what I can do, but I have found that, not many respond to the true gospel.

    Even though many are suffering in other parts of the world for their faith while they are in their earthly tents, I am afraid that many more will suffer eternally because of their blindness.

    I guess I didn’t really have a point to my reply, I’m sorry. I just know where your at and who God has called you to be.

    Most in our culture now believe that a “preacher” or a “priest” is someone who has to have a degree and has been trained through a denominational seminary.

    But, my brother, I believe that is purely man made tradition. While I agree that a preacher and a profit should rightfully be called and take their calling seriously. I do believe that a preacher of the Gospel should be an elder and someone who is passionate and serious about dividing the Word of God and understanding God’s Truth. But that is about all the qualification anyone needs to be a preacher and teacher.

    Trust me when I say that those who truly love and serve their master Jesus Christ will be edified and sanctified by your service. For you are a preacher and teacher of God’s Truth and in true ministry in His Kingdom, so I say keep preaching it to the lost my brother. For your words will never be empty and you will have a harvest.

    I wish I could find a church with many true believers, but I haven’t been able to find one in my area. I do believe we are living closer to the end times and I don’t know if there will ever be a true revival. It’s good to see preachers like MacArthur and Piper on the internet and congregations of more biblical Christians springing up, but, again, where I live, I don’t see much revival at all, I only see people continually turn their backs on God.

    So even though it’s hard, I continue to just minister and love others and remain focused on my main ministry, which is my family. I have a couple of true believers in my Church and these are the people I stay in fellowship with. I find myself though, missing more and more worship services, because I just don’t enjoy them at all and I rarely attend Adult Sunday School because it’s just not edifying. But again, I continue to fellowship with my brothers and sisters who have a true love for Christ and my family and I continue to worship and praise Jesus.

    Sorry for the ramble. 🙂

    May He continue to strengthen and upkeep you and always keep you in His grace and peace.

    In His grace,

    Dave

  2. Alan Higgins says:

    Paul, this has to be one of the most encouraging if the THE most encouraging comment that I have had. Thankyou very much for your words

  3. victor says:

    My heart goes out to my brothers and sisters around the world who are true heros of the faith

Leave a Reply

