After hearing about the earthquake tragedy in Haiti, the first question I asked myself was, what should my response be? Well my very first response was to pray for these people and ‘mourn with those who mourn’. I can only imagine what the people of Haiti must be going through losing friends, families and loved ones. If I lost my children to an earthquake, I dont know what I would do.

So as I said with the Burma tragedy, lets be practical.

International charities are appealing for donations to help Haiti.

In the UK the DEC – an umbrella group which launches and co-ordinates responses to major disasters overseas – has launched a Haiti Earthquake Appeal.

Disasters Emergency Committee

These organisations also have ways to donate:

Unicef UK

Medecins Sans Frontieres

International Red Cross

World Food Programme

Every little helps

Thankyou

If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? 17 Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead. (James 2:15-17)

“When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory. 32 All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats. 33 And He will set the sheep on His right hand, but the goats on the left. 34 Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: 35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ (Matthew 25:31-39)

Remember to keep the people of Haiti in your prayers

Related Posts:

Why does God allow evil?

Why does God allow evil? – Part 2

Why does God allow evil? – Part 3: Pain and Suffering

Why does God allow evil? – Part 4: If God is so powerful and so good, why do bad things happen?

If God knew people would sin, why did he make them?

Comments
  1. j.d. stegall says:

    yes this is a time for the real saints of God to show up with not only prayer but relief assistance with money and a physically able body if even possible to be there.

  2. Keyla says:

    Hey my brother…what has occured in haiti is truely devastaing…but its also shows that the time of christ is drawing near…anyways it is important that we help the haitian people since we would not be showing the love of Christ…but “James 2:15-17” in context is actually talking about our brethern, our brothers and sisters in Christ….Im not trying to be lofty or haughty, and please forgive me if it have come across as rude or legalistic…Im not trying to be, but it is important that we know the bible in context

  3. Alan Higgins says:

    Keyla, I am a person who is always preaching that we should read the bible in context so when I get a chance I will check out the scripture. I always welcome correction so thankyou

  4. Alan Higgins says:

    Keyla, on reading this I can see where you are coming from but at the same time I think the principle is the same. The context is about faith without works and James is basically saying that we show our faith BY our works. So what I am trying to say that as christians, lets be practical and do the same because they can not live on a prayer sandwich. They also need something tangible. What do you think? I appreciate your comment and as I said I above, I always welcome correction

  5. Keyla says:

    very nicely said…it is important that if we see someone in need and we have the means that we should help them out, christian or not… 😀 you are also right…have a good one and God Bless

Leave a Reply

