As I have stated in my previous post, one of the frustrations that I have is when I speak to people who call themselves christians but their fruits reveal that they are actually a false convert or simply just self deceived. This could be for a number of reasons such as praying the ‘sinners prayer‘.

One of the two components of salvation is repentance (the other being faith).

In simple terms, true repentance means turning away from your sins with the knowledge that those very sins have offended God. To see a picture of true repentance, read Psalms 51.

Repentance is NOT just acknowledging that you have done wrong but you have no real intention of changing.

Repentance is NOT trying to justify it by saying ‘We’re all human. God knows my heart’ or ‘God is not through with me yet’

Repentance is NOT being sorry for what you have done because you have been caught and are going to be punished

Repentance is NOT just about changing your behaviour but having a changed heart

If there is no true repentance, then there can be no true salvation.

RC Sproul explains below what true repentance is

HAVE YOU REPENTED?

Comments
  1. Marie says:

    Thanks Alan,

    I run into confusion over this issue all the time in counseling young women. THis is a useful, concise bit so I think I’ll print it out & keep it with my counseling materials. Well done!

Leave a Reply

