This month, my friend Steve Campbell who wrote the article ‘Slain in the spirit or slain stupid’, visited Morris Cerrullo’s yearly event here in London called Mission to London. It is quite a lengthy article so I will split it over three days but it is VERY informative and would advise those who attend these type of events to read this with biblical lens and not ‘I’m gonna defend my favorite preacher at any cost’ lens.

The battle for truth is something that has been going on since the world began, the first attack of Satan was to attack the word Of God in Genesis 3:1, where Satan asked Eve “Did God say?” This was a clear attempt to challenge what God had clearly instructed His new creations not to do.
Truth has many enemies and in order to maintain error the truth must be contained at all cost. When a believer starts their journey in pursuing real biblical truth they will always encounter opposition. The battle to be free from false Christianity will in no doubt cause some resentment especially from those quarters who maintain that God speaks extra biblical revelations in addition to His word.
There are many prophets around at present who are proclaiming to be God’s voice for the earth and are declaring these new extra biblical revelations to all those who will believe them.
The bible makes it clear that there must be no inaccuracy in the prophet’s words as they are supposed to be speaking the words directly from God.

2 Peter 1:20-21
20knowing this first of all, that no prophecy of Scripture comes from someone’s own interpretation. 21For no prophecy was ever produced by the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.

Movements such as The Kansas City Prophets, The New Apostolic Reformation and The Third Wave have pioneered and furthered the “new revelations” agenda and we have seen the influence and effects that these movements have had over the past 30 years for example in the 2008 Lakeland Revival in Florida and prior to that the Toronto Blessing or Laughing Revival in Canada in 1994.
Evidently both of these revivals were deemed as false but were accepted at the time by Christians.

I like this statement by John MacArthur where he states that;
“False Christianity accepted by true Christians is one of the most heinous sins imaginable.” and I totally agree as many are claiming that something is of God when it clearly isn’t. Biblical lethargy on the part of many believers has played a crucial part in ensuring that false teaching in many Christian circles have not only been accepted, but also reinvented, repackaged and marketed as “The New Move of God.” “God is doing a new thing on the earth” is the call, but what’s happened to the old thing?
The “old thing” that many have chosen to negate in the scriptures and instead have embraced the extra biblical “new things” that evidently do not appear in the scriptures?

If we believe the scriptures to be the truth (John 8:31-32, 2 Timothy 3:16) then we must be guided by them and them alone at all times (Sola Scriptura- The Scriptures Alone)

The Psalms declare; 5Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the daylong.

Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
We are instructed by the Apostle Paul “not to go beyond what is written”
1 Corinthians 4:6 and that we must “search the Scriptures daily to see if these things were so.” Acts 17:11

Morris Cerullo professes to be a “prophet of God” therefore it is imperative
for believers to search the scriptures in order to substantiate the
words that are spoken from a “prophet”. Its a simple test really but one that many in the Charismatic Christian world seem to be failing to do.
If Morris’ words are from God then they should be in the bible for all
to see as confirmation. The word “prophet” comes from two Greek words pro meaning “before,” or “in place of” and fayme meaning “to speak.” If anyone claims to speak for God then there is no room for error as His words are 100% infallible.

The purpose of this article is not aimed at trying to de-fame
Cerullo’s name as I have no personal or hidden agenda against him. Neither it is an attempt to judge, belittle or attack those who support him as Cerullo has legions of devout followers who endorse his ministry, teachings and his every last word.
This article and my objectives are solely to address what the Christian world is currently calling biblical Christianity.
I will simply be examining what I witnessed and heard that night.
The article will look at some of the key statements made by Cerullo during
his fifty-minute talk and examining those statements against the scriptures.

The aim here is to encourage true believers to ensure that their focus and devotion be for biblical truth and not for any one leader.
As believers we are instructed to test all teaching “and hold close to that which is true.” 1 Thessalonians 5:21.
My words are not the final authority as I am merely a humble servant of Christ diligently searching for the truth.

Thousands of Christians and non-believers attend “Mission To London”
over its four-day period, there are several keynote speakers for each
day from the US and the UK… The morning and afternoon sessions are
for those candidates who have registered for the teachings sessions
while the evening sessions are for all..

Morris Cerullo’s World Evangelism crusades have been coming to these
shores for 49 years and his “Mission To London” campaign has been
going since 1990’s. He has been ministering worldwide for nearly 65
years in total.
http://www.mcwe.com/about_mcwe.php

On paper his ministry credentials make pretty impressive reading.
I am not here to dispute many of the claims made on the site as a quick
search on google will show many other sides to Cerullo’s ministry and
career over the years.

The last time I attended a Cerullo crusade was in the early
1990’s and prior to that back in the 1970’s. Back then I had no choice as
my mother was an ardent follower of his ministry, as soon as she got
notification that he would be attending these shores plans were put
into place to ensure that she could attended the services for their
duration and all regular weekly activities were put on hold..

My father wasn’t a Christian and evidently the best place for me was
to be by my mother’s side rather than at home with my cigarette
smoking foul-mouthed father. I was therefore submitted to a week full
of being pulled backwards and forwards in protest to the crusades each
night.
Over the years I’ve watched my mother put a lot of time and effort and
let’s not forget money into supporting Morris Cerullo’s ministry and
listening to her claims that Cerullo was a true man of God.
As I have matured as a Christian and my pursuit for real biblical
truth (Sola Scriptura), a better understanding of what I believe and
why I evidently believe it, I’ve found that many of my beliefs in the
traditions of men have been gladly shattered and the veil removed from
my eyes (2 Cor 3:14) as they were not truth at all.. It’s been a long
road and I’ve grown along the way and have learned not to accept
anything now that is not based on Sola Scriptura…

I arrived at Earl’s Court 2 and was directed to the registration desk,
I ended up not going with my mother after all as she informed me that she had registered for the day session and would be there from 1pm.
At the desk I was asked to fill in a small registration slip with my name and address and was then given an entry ticket it, I’m gathering that Morris would like to extend his pastoral care to me also.
The young lady behind the desk said thank you and then
remarked “enjoy the show”, was this a prophetic word?
No!… God forbid..

Before I could enter the arena I had to walk through the strategically positioned merchandising section. I glimpsed several well-known book titles written by prominent authors and teachers of The Word Of Faith movement and decided to breeze through even more swiftly and made my way to the arena.

I entered the arena and took my seat. The praise and worship team
were singing, the worship was lively and energetic, the people around
me were engulfed in the sounds and the vibrant atmosphere as many seemed ready in their actions and anticipation to receive something from God tonight. This was emphasized by the rapturous applause and shouts when the worship leader proclaimed “are you ready to hear from the Lord tonight?”. To be quite honest I personally try not to get caught up in the emotional side of “praise & worship” these days as music in some environments can be used as a way of conditioning the emotions.
It is assumed “that we need to be “ushered” into His presence even though the scriptures say in Matthew 18:20 20For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.” and if the Holy Spirit resides within us. (Romans 8:9, 1 Corinthians 3:16 & Ephesians 1:13-14) Then why are people singing songs that repeatedly ask for Him to “fall down on them”??
Furthermore. It seem that this “presence” can only be sustained during the sermon by having music in the background? Or worse still the insensitive accentuated screeches of a Hammond organ emphasizing every last line of the preacher. Maybe it’s just me….?

A few more “praise and worship” songs, two songs from the Ruach Choir and it was now time for God’s prophet Morris Cerullo to bring the message.
A rather theatrical voice over introduction was backed by a highly dramatic musical accompaniment. The stage was now set for one of the longest serving prophets of our time to speak forth God’s words.
Cerullo walked apathetically to the podium from the rear entrance of the stage.
He stood with microphone in hand and then proceeded with his message.
There were several statements made by Cerullo, I have chosen to highlight a few of which I believe were his key statements.

Please note that Cerullo did not introduce the bible for approximately
45 minutes into his sermon so there were no initial texts or subject matter.
He quoted various stories from the scriptures but gave no reference text to where those stories were taken from. This would not have been very helpful for anyone who did not know the stories or scriptures,. He later stated,

“I’m not going to preach I’m just going to prophecy.”

This would explain Cerullo’s lack of structure and context to his sermon.
The fact that Cerullo chose not to start with a reading of any text goes clearly against what Paul instructed Timothy to do or anyone else who has been given the honour of delivery God’s word to a crowd of people.
Timothy 4:13”Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching.”

As a public speaker myself I allow at least five minutes to give a brief introduction, acquaint myself with the stage or platform, settle and compose myself and then finally commence in delivering the message.
Never in my entire time of teaching have I taken 45 minutes to even read one verse or failed to give information about the text that I am going to present.
This should have been an alarm call for what was going to follow, but sadly
his followers foresaw no problem with this.

Cerullo’s introductory statement was as follows..

“You can feel it in the streets of London that something is happening here..”

The crowd cheered and applauded in agreement to this statement.
This was one of several hyping the crowd statements that were randomly made by Cerullo throughout his talk. Were the unbelievers on your road or at your place of work all talking about “Mission To London” last week?
Did you see it on the news or in your local press?
Did the “mans dem on road” ponder putting a halt to their illicit activities and then decided that all roads led to Earls Court 2 last week as they felt that “something was happening there?” In all cases I think we can say No!
So how does Morris justify making this statement? He can’t.

To Be Continued…..

Comments
  1. Vaughn says:

    Plenty of humor in this diatribe of a description it’s too bad you aren’t getting paid to write screenplays. An assumption of course.

    All jokes aside it’s a pretty sad commentary for any preacher to take that long to give their text!

  2. tina says:

    very interesting … findings not news to me as such … have never had any trust or faith in this man who I believe is fake … however i do believe that back in the day his heart was in the right place … “enjoy the show” says it all … loopholes/exposure with these “so called prophets” are plain to see … lack of discernment and spiritual blindness to blame … oh and ofcourse “religion” … looking forward to reading the rest

Leave a Reply

