They came to Capernaum. When he was in the house, he asked them, “What were you arguing about on the road?”  But they kept quiet because on the way they had argued about who was the greatest. Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “If anyone wants to be first, he must be the very last, and the servant of all. (Mark 9:33-35)

In the UK, it is that time again where people are voting for their favourite acts in the MOBO (Music Of Black Origin) awards. However, what I have noticed in the twitter and facebook world are gospel artists asking their audience to vote for them to be the best gospel artist. The very fact that they are doing this does not sit comfortably with me. Am I saying that their motives are wrong? Only God knows but what I do know is, as my friend said, it doesn’t exactly scream humility. I am one for healthy competition and there is nothing wrong with getting recognition, applause etc. In fact the bible gives an example where it says that we should give honor to those are over us but in a nutshell, what is being said here indirectly (and sometimes directly) is ‘Vote for me to say that I’m the best’. I have no problems with ‘A’ saying vote for ‘B’ but I do have a issue with ‘A’ saying vote for ‘A’.

I get many encouraging comments about this blog for which I am thankful. However, if there was a competition for the best Christian blog site, I couldn’t imagine saying to people ‘please vote for my site’.

Maybe it’s just me

Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. (Phil 2:3)

Comments
  1. Zeke The Servant says:

    Jesus said, “If I be lifted up I will draw all men unto me. (John 12:32). As artists our goal is to express the good news that Christ has been lifted up! He died on the cross and shed His blood to cleanse us of our sins, rose from the grave and ascended to the right hand of the Father. Our duty is to have integrity, worship God and to preach the good news. The word says that Christ will draw man to Himself. It’s all about us getting out of the way and letting Christ be lifted up. Its hard to do sometimes when we are trying to build a career but if we focus on the gospel and walk humbly before God and keep the boldness to preach the good news then God will be glorified and when man does see us he will glorify God. When this is done Christ adds to us. Matthew 6:33. I don’t believe in throwing the baby out with the bath water but we do need to make sure we have a theological understanding of scripture, spiritual accountability, and passion to see Christ high and lifted up in our hearts. Lets learn together! No one is perfect but we must be accountable. It’s only one church.
    Lord help me to do a self inventory check so I can die to my flesh daily!

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/pain-redemption/id380053812

    Blessings & Strength.

  2. Rayna says:

    God has blessed many through your words. We were created by him and FOR him, and all that we do should be to His glory.

    Wholeheartedly, I agree with you that Person A should not exhort others to “vote for Person A”. Ephesians 4:29 is lately one of my favorite verses: “Let no unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but ONLY what is helpful for building OTHERS up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (caps-emphasis are mine).

    Thank you for your ministry. I will be a frequent reader.

Leave a Reply

