13 When Jesus heard it, He departed from there by boat to a deserted place by Himself. But when the multitudes heard it, they followed Him on foot from the cities. 14 And when Jesus went out He saw a great multitude; and He was moved with compassion for them, and healed their sick. 15 When it was evening, His disciples came to Him, saying, “This is a deserted place, and the hour is already late. Send the multitudes away, that they may go into the villages and buy themselves food.”
16 But Jesus said to them, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.”
17 And they said to Him, “We have here only five loaves and two fish.”
18 He said, “Bring them here to Me.” 19 Then He commanded the multitudes to sit down on the grass. And He took the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven, He blessed and broke and gave the loaves to the disciples; and the disciples gave to the multitudes. 20 So they all ate and were filled, and they took up twelve baskets full of the fragments that remained. 21 Now those who had eaten were about five thousand men, besides women and children. (Matthew 14:13-21)

Lately, God has opened my eyes to the real plight of real people. The fact is in this fallen life we live in, many people struggle with life in one way or another. My wife is involved in The Feast in my church which meet every Wednesday evening and supply the homeless with soup, a hot meal and pudding for all who come, with hot drinks, clothing, emergency food packs and housing advice provided – as well as fun and friendship. The Feast is part of the Jericho Road Project which was ‘set up with the aim of supporting those who live on the streets and helping them to become functioning members of society’.  My wife always tells me about the real problems that these people have which could range from alcoholism to drug addition to teenage pregnancy to sexual/physical abuse. I think sometimes, we (including myself) as Christians are so used to being in our Christian bubble or we are so used to being around ‘safe’ people that we forget that the good news of the gospel is for everyone in spite of their background and what they have gone/are going through.

Last year, I remember seeing this program on TV and it broke my heart to see that children could live in these conditions

Sometimes, we can feel helpless and overwhelmed that we cannot solve all the worlds woes or make a difference in the whole world but we CAN make a difference in one persons life. Maybe give some money to a worthy cause or give someone who is ‘going through’ a listening ear. Make them feel like somebody and that they are valued. Do something. Jesus was moved with compassion and told US to ‘give them something to eat’. I love this song below which challenges us to move into action.

One thing we must be careful of though is not to omit the gospel when caring for the disadvantaged.

The Gospel – Social Justice = Not true Christianity

Social Justice – The Gospel = A better earth to go to hell from

The Gospel + Social Justice = Christlike Christianity

WE MUST GO!!

Comments
  1. I can’t stop crying for those children in Bulgaria. This video broke my heart. I know that God cares for them. I know that this is a fallen world. I am praying and doing what I can but there is so much to do! Where were the toys for those children? Are these children ever hugged and kissed? Do any of them get time alone with someone who cares? I can’t stop crying. I am praying that JChrist will burden hearts to help those as these children. I sponsor children in other countries but I feel so helpless because of all the ones who get no help at all.

  2. vintagegirl says:

    Hi Alan, I agree. I started volunteering at the Salvation Army food distribution center last Sept. and sometimes all it takes is a smile, a kind word or just acknowledging someone by name as you give out the food baskets to let someone know that someone cares about them. Fortunately, the SA is a Christian organization so there are no “restrictions” on sharing the Gospel when there’s an oportunity. I also wrote my own gospel tract and wrap it around granola bars to hand out whenever I see a homeless person. Such a simple thing we can all do, and it shares Jesus without handing out “cash” which I have found through experience to be unadviseable. We can all do something to give the hope of the Gospel to the downtrodden and less fortunate, and we all need to be reminded that the foot of the cross is level ground.

Leave a Reply

